Blog
ComparisonSeptember 29, 2026 · 12 min read
By the ZoomCap teamPublished September 29, 2026Facts checked September 29, 2026

ZoomCap vs Cap: $29 Auto Zoom or Open-Source Recorder?

ZoomCap zooms on clicks and typing and exports locally for $29 once; Cap is open source with share links. Price, commercial use, platforms and privacy compared.

By the ZoomCap team.We make ZoomCap, which appears in this article. Prices and features were checked on each vendor's own site on September 29, 2026. Where we could not test a tool ourselves, we say so. How we test

Short answer

Pick ZoomCap if you make demo videos for a product, a client or a launch: zooms fire on your clicks and typing, the free browser recorder needs no install and allows commercial use, and a commercial licence is $29 once, $29 less than Cap's desktop licence. Your recordings are never uploaded. Choose Cap instead if you need hosted share links, or open-source code you can audit.

Cap and ZoomCap turn up in the same searches: open-source Screen Studio alternative, Loom alternative, screen recorder with auto zoom. They're built for different jobs. ZoomCap is a demo-video tool: record on your own machine, get zooms from your clicks and typing, finish it in a simple editor and export a file for your site, README or launch. Cap is a recorder with hosted sharing, closer to an open-source Loom.

We make ZoomCap, so weigh this accordingly. Below, every Cap fact is labelled as coming from Cap's site, and every price is dated.

Why ZoomCap, in short

  • Zoom on typing, documented. ZoomCap zooms on clicks and bursts of typing, so code, terminal and form demos get zoomed too. Cap's site doesn't say what triggers its zoom.
  • Commercial use on every plan. Including free. Cap's free version is personal-use only.
  • $29 once for commercial work. $29 less than Cap's one-time desktop licence ($58).
  • A terminal recorder on macOS and Linux. npx zoomcap record fits the way developers already work.
  • No cloud side at all. Recordings are edited and exported on your computer and never uploaded.

How we compared them

The ZoomCap details come from the product itself, which we build and test daily. The Cap details come from Cap's pricing page and product site, checked September 2026. We have not run a hands-on test of Cap for this article, free or paid, so we don't make claims about how its zoom looks, how fast it exports or how stable the Windows beta is. Where Cap's site didn't state something (what triggers its auto zoom, its refund terms), we say that plainly. More on our method is on the how we test page.

ZoomCap vs Cap side by side

ZoomCapCap (from its site)
Price (checked Sep 2026)$29 once, or $12.49/mo$58 once (desktop licence, commercial use); Desktop licence $29/yr; Pro about $98/yr; Pro $12/user/mo
Free tierBrowser recorder and editor, 2 exports a month with a small watermark, commercial use allowedFree for personal use only (no commercial use)
Auto-zoom triggerClusters of clicks and typing bursts, from CLI recordings; manual zooms on browser recordings and importsYes (trigger not specified by the vendor)
PlatformsCLI on macOS and Linux (X11); browser recorder in Chrome or Edge on any OS, including WindowsmacOS, Windows (beta), Linux, Chrome extension
ProcessingLocal only: recorded, edited and encoded on your computer, never uploadedLocal editing, optional cloud sharing
SharingYou export MP4 or GIF and share the fileHosted share links built in
Refund14 days if it doesn't work for you and we can't fix itNot stated on the pricing page (unverified)
Cost over 1 / 2 / 3 yearsLifetime: $29 / $29 / $29. Pro monthly: $150 / $300 / $450Personal: free. Commercial desktop licence, once: $58 / $58 / $58
Main tradeoffNo share links, no Windows CLI, no motion blurOpen source with sharing built in; commercial use needs a paid licence

Where ZoomCap wins

You know what the zoom follows. ZoomCap's automatic zoom clusters your clicks and bursts of typing into zooms that hold and release. Typing zoom aims at the last place you clicked, usually the field or terminal pane you're typing into, so code and CLI demos get zoomed as well as mouse-driven ones. Cap's site lists automatic zoom but didn't say what triggers it when we checked. Automatic zoom in ZoomCap comes from the CLI's click data; on browser recordings you place zooms by hand.

Commercial use on a small budget. ZoomCap's free plan allows commercial use, and Lifetime is $29 once. Cap's free version is personal-use only and its one-time desktop licence for commercial use is $58, so ZoomCap Lifetime costs $29 less. Of the 18 recorders we price-checked, only Glidesmith (Mac-only) matches $29 one-time; OBS, OpenScreen and Recordly are free.

You record from the terminal. npx zoomcap record starts a recording on macOS or Linux; q or ⌃⌥S stops it and the editor opens in your browser with zooms placed. On macOS 15 and later it captures at 60fps with system audio and mic through ScreenCaptureKit. Our command-line screen recorder guide covers the setup.

Nothing about your recording leaves your machine. ZoomCap has no upload path for video: the CLI hands the file to the editor over localhost, and export is encoded in your browser. We record only the timing of key presses for typing zoom, never which keys. Cap edits locally too, according to its site, and its sharing is optional; with ZoomCap there is simply no cloud side to switch off. The security page shows the data flow.

A finishing editor aimed at demos. ZoomCap's browser editor has backgrounds, padding, rounded corners, a macOS window frame, 16:9, 9:16, 1:1 and 4:3 aspect ratios with cursor follow, a webcam bubble, captions via in-browser Whisper, click sounds, style presets and seven music tracks, and exports H.264 MP4 up to 4K or a GIF.

A supported product with a refund. Email support and a 14-day refund if it doesn't work for you and we can't fix it. Cap's pricing page didn't state refund terms when we checked. Payments go through Dodo Payments.

When Cap fits better

  • You need hosted share links. Cap's site describes optional cloud sharing: record, get a link, send it. For bug reports and async updates, a link is faster than a file. ZoomCap exports a file you share yourself; Loom also fits this job.
  • You must audit the source. Cap is open source; ZoomCap is closed and documents its data flow instead.
  • Your team wants one desktop app on Windows too. Cap lists macOS, Windows (beta), Linux, Chrome extension. ZoomCap on Windows is the browser recorder with manual zooms.

A note on “commercial use”. Cap's pricing page separates personal use (free) from commercial use (paid). A demo for your employer, a client or a product you sell reads as commercial, so budget for the licence. ZoomCap doesn't make the distinction: commercial use is allowed on every plan, including free.

Two different workflows

With ZoomCap on a Mac or Linux machine:

  1. Run npx zoomcap doctor once to check screen and input permissions, and npx zoomcap displays if you have more than one screen.
  2. Run npx zoomcap record and do your demo. A ● REC item shows in the macOS menu bar.
  3. Stop with q or ⌃⌥S. The browser editor opens with zooms already placed from your clicks and typing, and the cursor redrawn smooth.
  4. Trim, split and cut; adjust zooms; add background, captions and music.
  5. Export an MP4 or GIF, then put it wherever it needs to go: a landing page, a README, a Product Hunt gallery, a support article.

With Cap, according to its site, you edit locally and can share straight to a hosted link. If the video's next stop is a file on your own site or in your repo, ZoomCap's file-first flow is exactly what you need.

What each costs over one, two and three years

Prices from each vendor's pricing page on September 29, 2026. We show the cheapest plan that allows commercial use without a watermark.

Plan1 year2 years3 years
ZoomCap Lifetime$29$29$29
ZoomCap Pro (monthly)$150$300$450
Cap desktop licence, one-time$58$58$58

Cap also sells the desktop licence yearly and a Pro plan for cloud features (Pro $12/user/mo; Desktop licence $29/yr; Pro about $98/yr). Pro is billed per user, so a team's cost scales with headcount. ZoomCap has no hosted plan to set against Cap Pro.

Which to pick for your situation

Your situationBetter pickWhy
Code, terminal or form demos on macOSZoomCapZoom from typing bursts as well as clicks; CLI fits the workflow
Freelance or company work, one-time budgetZoomCap$29 once vs $58 once for Cap's commercial desktop licence
Recording on Linux X11 from the terminalZoomCapnpx zoomcap record with click tracking
Launch or landing-page video, footage stays localZoomCapDemo-focused editor, no upload path
Bug reports and async updates for teammatesCapA hosted link is faster to send than a file
You must be able to audit the sourceCapOpen source; ZoomCap is closed source

Other options

Free and open source for commercial work: OpenScreen is MIT-licensed and runs on macOS, Windows and Linux with cursor-following zoom, motion blur, per-segment speed and a CLI, according to its GitHub README. See OpenScreen vs ZoomCap.

Hosted demos for a team: Tella records and edits in the cloud with share links and comments, at Pro $156/yr per user and no free plan. See Tella vs ZoomCap.

Paid, Mac-only, subscription: Screen Studio has motion blur, share links and iPhone recording for $108 a year.

When not to use ZoomCap

Skip ZoomCap if the point of the video is a link your team can open and comment on, if you need to audit the source of the tool that records your screen, if you want automatic zoom in Windows desktop apps, or if you're on Linux Wayland. The full list of what ZoomCap doesn't do is in the box at the end of this post.

How to decide

  1. Where does the video go next? A file for your site, repo, launch or social: ZoomCap. A hosted link for teammates: Cap.
  2. Is it commercial? ZoomCap allows it on every plan; Cap needs a paid licence. Compare on the pricing page.
  3. Test the zoom on your own demo. Record 60 seconds in ZoomCap's free browser recorder. If typing zoom matters (code, terminal, forms), a month of Pro is the cheapest way to try the CLI, and the 14-day refund applies if it doesn't work for you.

Frequently asked questions

Is Cap better than ZoomCap?

For demo videos, ZoomCap is the more focused tool: its automatic zoom is documented to follow both clicks and typing, it has a terminal recorder for macOS and Linux, its free plan allows commercial use, and a commercial licence is $29 once versus $58 for Cap's desktop licence. Cap fits better if you need hosted share links, or if you need the source code open, according to Cap's site (checked September 2026).

Is Cap free for commercial use?

No. Cap's pricing page says the free version is for personal use only. For commercial use it lists a desktop licence at $58 once (desktop licence, commercial use), yearly options (Desktop licence $29/yr; Pro about $98/yr) and a Pro plan at Pro $12/user/mo for cloud features. ZoomCap's free plan allows commercial use, with 2 watermarked exports a month.

How much cheaper is ZoomCap than Cap?

For a one-time commercial licence, ZoomCap Lifetime is $29 and Cap's desktop licence is $58, so ZoomCap is $29 less. For personal, non-commercial use Cap's free version costs nothing. Cap's Pro plan for hosted sharing is a per-user subscription; ZoomCap has no hosted plan to compare it with.

Does Cap zoom in on clicks automatically?

ZoomCap's automatic zoom clusters clicks and bursts of typing from its CLI recordings, aiming typing zooms at your last click; on browser recordings and imported videos you place zooms by hand. Cap's site lists automatic zoom but, when we checked in September 2026, didn't say what triggers it.

Is this comparison biased?

We make ZoomCap, so treat it as a vendor's comparison. To make it checkable, every Cap fact is labelled as coming from Cap's site with the date we checked, every price comes from one shared facts file, and we say plainly where Cap fits better. We have not hands-on tested Cap for this article.

Try ZoomCap

Record free in your browser, commercial use included, or get the terminal recorder and unlimited exports for $29 once. Related: Loom for messages vs demos, Screen Studio alternatives and OpenScreen vs ZoomCap.

What ZoomCap costs

Checked September 29, 2026

Free

$0

Browser recorder and editor, 2 exports a month with a small watermark.

Lifetime

$29

One payment. Unlimited exports, no watermark, the CLI, 4K export.

Pro

$12.49/mo

Same features as Lifetime, cancel anytime.

Over three years, ZoomCap Lifetime costs $29 and Screen Studio's yearly plan costs $324 ($108 a year), a difference of $295. Of the 18 recorders we price-checked, ZoomCap is the only one at $29 one-time that records in the browser with nothing to install, zooms on both clicks and typing, and runs from the terminal on macOS and Linux. Start free, and pay once only if it earns it.

14-day refund window on paid plans · refund terms · pricing page

Is ZoomCap safe?

Your recordings
Recorded, edited and encoded on your own computer. Video never goes to our servers: the CLI hands the file to the editor over localhost. See the data flow
Keystrokes
Only the timing of key presses, to drive typing zoom. Which keys you pressed is never captured or stored.
Account and payments
Sign-in and licence records are held by Google Firebase. Payments are processed by Dodo Payments, so we never see your card. Privacy policy
Refunds and support
If ZoomCap doesn't work for you and we can't fix it, email us within 14 days for a refund. Commercial use is allowed on every plan. Contact us · About ZoomCap

What ZoomCap doesn't do

  • No Windows CLI yet. On Windows, use the free browser recorder in Chrome or Edge.
  • No motion blur.
  • Speed changes apply to the whole video (1×, 1.5× or 2×), not per section.
  • Automatic zoom needs the CLI's click data. On browser recordings and imported videos you place zooms by hand.
  • On Linux the CLI records video only (X11 sessions, no Wayland, no system audio yet).
  • No hosted share links, comments or viewer analytics. You export a file and share it yourself.