By the ZoomCap team.We make ZoomCap, which appears in this article. Prices and features were checked on each vendor's own site on September 29, 2026. Where we could not test a tool ourselves, we say so. How we test
Short answer
Our pick: ZoomCap — it records in your browser with nothing to install, on any OS, and adds a terminal recorder for macOS and Linux. It costs $29 once instead of Screen Studio's $324 over three years, zooms on your clicks and your typing, and your recordings never leave your computer. Try it free in the browser.
Pick something else only if: you need motion blur or hosted share links (Screen Studio), automatic zoom on Windows (FocuSee), or it must cost $0 (OpenScreen).
We compared 21 screen recorders people consider as a Screen Studio alternative against Screen Studio itself: free and paid, Mac, Windows and Linux, one-time and subscription. Screen Studio now costs $29 a month or $108 a year, sells no lifetime licence to new buyers and runs only on macOS. Our recommendation for most demo makers is ZoomCap, and the section below says exactly why. Every price was checked on the vendor's own site on September 29, 2026, and every other tool is listed with the specific job it does better. For the newer, lesser-known Mac apps (Prequel, Smooth Recorder, Glideo and others), see our list of underrated Screen Studio alternatives.
Who this is for
You want what Screen Studio does (zooms that follow your clicks, a smooth cursor, a clean background) but not its subscription, not its Mac-only limit, or not its price for how often you record. Typical readers: a founder recording a launch demo every few weeks, a developer making docs videos on Windows or Linux, a team that needs shareable links more than motion effects, and anyone looking for a free Screen Studio alternative that is allowed for work.
Why ZoomCap is our pick for a Screen Studio alternative
We make ZoomCap, so weigh this accordingly, but here is the case in numbers you can check.
- It works in the browser, with nothing to install, on any OS. The recorder at /record runs in Chrome or Edge on Windows, Mac, Linux or a locked-down work laptop. For the paid plans there is also a terminal recorder,
npx zoomcap record, on macOS and Linux X11. Of the 21 recorders we price-checked, no other paid tool offers both a no-install browser recorder and a terminal recorder, and 10 of them are Mac apps only. - You pay once. Lifetime is $29 once (or $12.49 a month for Pro), against $324 for three years of Screen Studio's yearly plan. That is $295 less over three years. Prequel and Glidesmith also sell a $29 one-time licence and Smooth Recorder's early-access price is lower, but all three are Mac-only, according to their sites.
- It zooms on typing, not only clicks. The CLI clusters clicks and bursts of typing into zooms that hold and release, so terminal work, forms and code editors get zooms too. Most tools here zoom on clicks or follow the cursor; FocuSee, Prequel and Glideo also say they zoom on typing, and none of them runs on Linux.
- Your footage stays on your computer. Recordings are edited and encoded locally and never uploaded. The CLI records keystroke timing only, never which keys. Our security page shows the data flow and how to check it in DevTools.
- Free to try. The browser recorder and editor are on the free plan, with 2 exports a month (small watermark, commercial use allowed), so you can check it on a real demo before paying.
- It runs where Screen Studio doesn't. The CLI records on macOS and Linux X11; the browser recorder covers Windows. Screen Studio is macOS-only.
- Exports up to 4K on every plan, as H.264 MP4 or GIF, with backgrounds, padding, a macOS window frame, 16:9, 9:16, 1:1 and 4:3, a webcam overlay and automatic captions.
Payments go through Dodo Payments, and if ZoomCap doesn't work for you and we can't fix it, you get a refund within 14 days under our refund terms. Screen Studio's terms say its fees are non-refundable. The limits worth knowing before you pay: automatic zoom needs the CLI (on browser recordings you place zooms by hand), and there is no Windows CLI, no motion blur and no hosted share links. The full list is in the box at the end of this post.
The verdicts
- Best overall Screen Studio alternative: ZoomCap (ours). Free in the browser on any OS with nothing to install, a CLI on macOS and Linux X11, $29 once, click and typing zoom, local-only.
- If you need motion blur, share links or iPhone recording: Screen Studio itself, on a subscription.
- If you want a native Mac app with a Dock icon and three zoom modes: ScreenKite, at a higher one-time price.
- If you only record on an Apple Silicon Mac and want share links: Prequel, at the same one-time price as ZoomCap. Free for personal use on a Mac: Glideo, in early access.
- If you need automatic zoom on Windows: FocuSee (yearly plan) or CANVID (one-time).
- If you record on Linux Wayland: Screenix. On X11, ZoomCap's CLI covers it.
- If it must cost $0: OpenScreen or Recordly, community-supported open source. OBS Studio for raw capture with no zoom.
- If your videos live as hosted links with comments: Tella, or Loom for quick messages without zoom.
How we compared
We checked every price, platform and refund term on the vendor's own pricing or download page (or the GitHub repository, for open-source tools) on September 29, 2026. Each tool name in this article links to the exact page we read. Where a vendor's page didn't state something, we say so rather than fill the gap from another blog.
We split the evidence into two kinds and label which one each claim rests on:
- Tested by us: ZoomCap, which we build and use, on macOS and Linux X11, plus its browser recorder in Chrome. The free tools (OBS Studio, OpenScreen, Recordly) are described from their own documentation and READMEs; they cost nothing, so you can install them and check.
- From the vendor: everything about the paid apps, including Screen Studio, ScreenKite, FocuSee, Tight Studio, Glidesmith, CursorClip, CursorFlow, Screen Charm, CANVID, Camtasia, Screenix, Cursorful, Prequel, Smooth Recorder, Tella and Loom, plus Glideo, which is free for individuals. We did not buy licences for these, so we report what their sites say, dated, and say “according to” the vendor.
We then compared each tool on what a buyer weighs before paying: published price before tax; whether you can get a finished, unwatermarked export free (and for what use); platforms; whether the recording leaves your computer; what triggers a zoom; and the 3-year cost of the least expensive plan with no watermark and no export cap.
No vendor paid to be included or ranked, and there are no affiliate links on this site. The general rules we follow are on our How we test page. If a price here is out of date, tell us and we'll correct it.
Why people look for a Screen Studio alternative
Screen Studio more or less created this category: a Mac recorder that adds the zooms, cursor smoothing and motion blur that used to take an editor an afternoon. In late September 2025 it removed its one-time licence for new customers. As of September 2026, according to screen.studio, the only plans are $29 billed monthly or $108 a year billed yearly, and its terms say fees are non-refundable. It is still macOS-only (Ventura 13.1 or later), with no Windows plans.
That leaves occasional recorders who don't want a permanent subscription, Windows and Linux users who can't run it at all, and people with no budget who need a free tool they can use for work. The full plan history, including what the old licence actually covered, is in our Screen Studio pricing breakdown.
The decision table: Screen Studio alternatives compared
One row per tool, prices as published on September 29, 2026. “Free finished export” is what you can export without paying. Scroll sideways on a phone. Always check the live pricing page before you buy.
| Tool | Price (checked Sep 2026) | Free finished export | Platforms | Local vs cloud | Auto-zoom trigger | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZoomCap (ours, our pick) | Pro $12.49/mo · $29 once | Browser recorder and editor, 2 exports a month with a small watermark; commercial use allowed | CLI on macOS and Linux (X11); browser recorder in Chrome or Edge on any OS, including Windows | Local only; recordings are never uploaded | Yes, clicks and typing bursts on CLI recordings; placed by hand on browser recordings | Pay once and nothing is uploaded, but no Windows CLI, no motion blur and no share links |
| Screen Studio (baseline) | $29/mo · $108/yr ($9/mo billed yearly) · No longer sold to new buyers | Free download to try; exporting needs a plan | macOS only (Ventura 13.1+); no Windows plans | Local, with optional share links | Yes, from clicks | The most mature Mac app (motion blur, share links, iOS recording), but a subscription and Mac-only |
| ScreenKite | $79.99 once (founder price, then $99.99), 3 Macs | Free forever with every editing feature; exports watermarked | macOS only | Local; optional link sharing or your own S3 | Yes: cluster, follow-cursor and loupe modes | Feature-rich one-time Mac app; watermark until you buy |
| FocuSee | $19.99/mo (1 computer) · $49.99/yr (1 computer) · $199.99 once (FocuSee 2.x only, 5 computers) | Trial exports one video | Windows and macOS | Local editing; AI features use paid credits | Yes, follows clicks and typing | Cross-platform with typing zoom, but AI features cost credits and lifetime covers v2 only |
| Tight Studio | Plus $19/mo, Pro $49/mo · Plus $108/yr, Pro $288/yr | Free forever, standard exports without watermark; limited clips, share links and AI credits | macOS, Apple Silicon only | Local; cloud share links and AI credits | Yes, on every click | Generous free plan, but Apple Silicon only and paid tiers are subscriptions |
| Recordly | Free | Free and open source (AGPL-3.0), no limits | macOS 14+, Windows 10, Linux | Local | Yes, zoom suggestions from cursor activity | Free on every OS; community-supported, smaller editing and audio feature set |
| Cap | Pro $12/user/mo · Desktop licence $29/yr; Pro about $98/yr · $58 once (desktop licence, commercial use) | Free for personal use only (no commercial use) | macOS, Windows (beta), Linux, Chrome extension | Local editing, optional cloud sharing | Yes (trigger not specified by the vendor) | Open source with sharing built in; commercial use needs a paid licence |
| OpenScreen | Free | Free for personal and commercial use, no watermark, no account (MIT) | macOS, Windows, Linux; also a CLI for scripts and CI | Local, GPU export; optional AI editing with your own API key | Yes, follows the cursor | Free, open source, with motion blur and per-segment speed; self-described as under active development with occasional breaking changes |
| Screen Charm | $79 once, 3 devices, lifetime updates | Free to start; export limits not stated on the pricing page | macOS (Apple Silicon) | Local, optional share links | Yes, from every click | One-time Mac app with captions, motion blur and pause/resume; Apple Silicon only |
| CursorClip | $9/mo · $29/yr · $70 once | Record and edit free; exporting needs a licence | macOS 13.5+ only | Local, works offline | Yes, as you click and move | Clean one-time Mac app; no Windows planned |
| CursorFlow | $70 once, 2 Macs, 1 year of updates | Every feature free; exports carry a moving watermark | macOS 15+ | Local | Yes, every click | One-time Mac app; updates last one year |
| CANVID | Pro $19/mo · Pro $84/yr · $75 once (desktop), 3 devices | Trial with every feature except export | Windows and macOS | Local plus cloud AI and storage | Yes, every click | Cross-platform one-time option; strict refund terms |
| Cursorful | $79 once (Pro, commercial use) | Free for non-commercial use, browser-tab recording | Chrome, Edge or Brave extension on any OS | Local, rendered in the browser | Yes, after 2+ clicks within 3 seconds | Nothing to install, but records browser tabs only on the free plan |
| Tella | Pro $26/user/mo · Pro $156/yr | No free plan (7-day trial) | macOS, Windows, Chrome extension | Cloud | Yes, from clicks and cursor data | Strong hosted editing and sharing, but cloud-based and a subscription |
| Loom | Business $18/user/mo · Business $180/yr | 25 videos per person, 5-minute limit, 720p | macOS, Windows, Chrome extension, iOS, Android | Cloud | No | Best for quick async messages to a team; no automatic zoom |
| Camtasia | Essentials $179.88/yr · Perpetual licences discontinued | Trial with watermarked exports | Windows 10/11, macOS 14+ | Local | Yes, SmartFocus from cursor, clicks and scrolling | A full video editor with a learning curve and a yearly price |
| OBS Studio | Free | Free and open source (GPL-2.0), no limits | Windows, macOS 12+, Linux | Local | No (third-party plugins only) | The best free capture and streaming tool; no editor or automatic zoom |
| Glidesmith | $29 once, 1 Mac (early-access price) | Unlimited recording; exports watermarked and cut at 2 minutes | macOS 13.1+ | Local only | Yes, every click | Same $29 one-time price as ZoomCap, Mac only, early access |
| Screenix | $39/yr · $59 once | 7-day trial, up to 10 recordings | Linux only (X11 and Wayland) | Local, optional hosted share links | Yes, from recorded clicks | Built for Linux, including Wayland; no macOS or Windows |
| Prequel | $9/mo · No annual plan · $29 once | No free plan; 7-day trial, then export needs a plan | macOS 14+, Apple Silicon only | Local, with optional hosted share links | Yes, clicks and typing | Polish effects and share links, but Apple Silicon Macs only and no free plan after the trial |
| Smooth Recorder | $9 once during early access, $19 after launch; 1 Mac at a time | unverified (the site doesn't say what works before paying) | macOS 15+ only | Local | Yes, clicks only | Very low early-access price, but clicks-only zoom, no refunds and macOS 15+ only |
| Glideo | Free for individuals | Free for individuals, no watermark; companies need an enterprise contract (price unpublished) | macOS 14+ only | Local | Yes, clicks and typing (since July 2026) | Free for individuals, but early access, Mac-only, and business use needs an unpriced contract |
“Auto-zoom” means different things in different tools. Some zoom toward every click, some wait for a cluster of clicks, some follow the cursor, and four say they zoom on typing: ZoomCap, FocuSee, Prequel and Glideo. Of those four, only ZoomCap runs on Linux or in a browser. We go deeper on how each one behaves in screen recorders with auto zoom.
What each Screen Studio alternative costs over three years
A monthly price hides what you actually pay, and a one-time price hides nothing. So we worked out what each tool costs over three years of use, using the least expensive plan that removes the watermark and export limits. For one-time licences that is the licence; for subscriptions it is three years of the yearly plan. The table is sorted from least to most expensive, as of September 29, 2026, before tax.
| # | Tool | 3-year cost | Works out to | vs Screen Studio yearly | Based on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Glideo | free | — | $324 less | Free: Free for individuals, no watermark; companies need an enterprise contract (price unpublished) |
| 2 | OBS Studio | free | — | $324 less | Free: Free and open source (GPL-2.0), no limits |
| 3 | OpenScreen | free | — | $324 less | Free: Free for personal and commercial use, no watermark, no account (MIT) |
| 4 | Recordly | free | — | $324 less | Free: Free and open source (AGPL-3.0), no limits |
| 5 | Tight Studio | free | — | $324 less | Free: Free forever, standard exports without watermark; limited clips, share links and AI credits |
| 6 | Smooth Recorder | $9 | $0.25/mo | $315 less | One-time: $9 once during early access, $19 after launch; 1 Mac at a time |
| 7 | ZoomCap (ours, our pick) | $29 | $0.81/mo | $295 less | One-time: $29 once |
| 8 | Glidesmith | $29 | $0.81/mo | $295 less | One-time: $29 once, 1 Mac (early-access price) |
| 9 | Prequel | $29 | $0.81/mo | $295 less | One-time: $29 once |
| 10 | Cap | $58 | $1.61/mo | $266 less | One-time: $58 once (desktop licence, commercial use) |
| 11 | Screenix | $59 | $1.64/mo | $265 less | One-time: $59 once |
| 12 | CursorClip | $70 | $1.94/mo | $254 less | One-time: $70 once |
| 13 | CursorFlow | $70 | $1.94/mo | $254 less | One-time: $70 once, 2 Macs, 1 year of updates |
| 14 | CANVID | $75 | $2.08/mo | $249 less | One-time: $75 once (desktop), 3 devices |
| 15 | Cursorful | $79 | $2.19/mo | $245 less | One-time: $79 once (Pro, commercial use) |
| 16 | Screen Charm | $79 | $2.19/mo | $245 less | One-time: $79 once, 3 devices, lifetime updates |
| 17 | ScreenKite | $79.99 | $2.22/mo | $244.01 less | One-time: $79.99 once (founder price, then $99.99), 3 Macs |
| 18 | FocuSee | $149.97 | $4.17/mo | $174.03 less | Yearly plan × 3: $49.99/yr (1 computer) |
| 19 | Screen Studio | $324 | $9/mo | baseline | Yearly plan × 3: $108/yr ($9/mo billed yearly) |
| 20 | Tella | $468 | $13/mo | $144 more | Yearly plan × 3: Pro $156/yr |
| 21 | Camtasia | $539.64 | $14.99/mo | $215.64 more | Yearly plan × 3: Essentials $179.88/yr |
| 22 | Loom | $540 | $15/mo | $216 more | Yearly plan × 3: Business $180/yr |
How to read it:
- ZoomCap is the lowest-priced one-time licence that runs beyond the Mac. At $29 once it costs $295 less than Screen Studio's yearly plan over three years, and works in a browser on any OS plus a CLI on macOS and Linux. Prequel and Glidesmith match the price, and Smooth Recorder is cheaper at $9 during early access, but according to their sites all three are Mac-only: Prequel needs Apple Silicon, Smooth Recorder needs macOS 15 and gives no refunds, and Glidesmith is early access for one Mac.
- Free comes with conditions. OBS Studio, OpenScreen and Recordly have no paid tier and no support team; problems go to a GitHub issue. Tight Studio's free plan limits clips, share links and AI credits, and needs an Apple Silicon Mac. Glideo is free for individuals only; companies need an enterprise contract with no published price.
- Monthly plans cost far more than this table shows. Screen Studio billed monthly is $1,044 over three years, and ZoomCap Pro at $12.49 a month is $450. If you expect to keep a tool, the one-time or yearly option is the one to compare.
- “Lifetime” doesn't always mean lifetime updates. CursorFlow's licence includes one year of updates, and FocuSee's one-time licence covers version 2.x only. Screen Charm says its licence includes lifetime updates. Read the line under the price.
- Device limits differ: three Macs for ScreenKite and Screen Charm, two for CursorFlow, one for Glidesmith, one Mac at a time for Smooth Recorder, and one computer for FocuSee's yearly plan.
- Expensive isn't overpriced. Tella and Loom include hosting and viewer analytics, and Camtasia is a full video editor. If you only need the file, you won't use most of that.
Pick by what you need
Cheap Screen Studio alternative: pay once
Pick ZoomCap. $29 once gets you unlimited exports without a watermark, the browser recorder on any OS, the CLI with click and typing zoom on macOS and Linux, and exports up to 4K. Of the 21 recorders we price-checked, Prequel and Glidesmith match that one-time price and Smooth Recorder's early-access price is lower; all three run only on a Mac. Here is every one-time licence, from least to most expensive:
- Smooth Recorder: $9 once during early access, $19 after launch; 1 Mac at a time. macOS 15+ only.
- ZoomCap (ours): $29 once. CLI on macOS and Linux (X11); browser recorder in Chrome or Edge on any OS, including Windows.
- Glidesmith: $29 once, 1 Mac (early-access price). macOS 13.1+.
- Prequel: $29 once. macOS 14+, Apple Silicon only.
- Cap: $58 once (desktop licence, commercial use). macOS, Windows (beta), Linux, Chrome extension.
- Screenix: $59 once. Linux only (X11 and Wayland).
- CursorClip: $70 once. macOS 13.5+ only.
- CursorFlow: $70 once, 2 Macs, 1 year of updates. macOS 15+.
- CANVID: $75 once (desktop), 3 devices. Windows and macOS.
- Cursorful: $79 once (Pro, commercial use). Chrome, Edge or Brave extension on any OS.
- Screen Charm: $79 once, 3 devices, lifetime updates. macOS (Apple Silicon).
- ScreenKite: $79.99 once (founder price, then $99.99), 3 Macs. macOS only.
FocuSee also sells a one-time licence, but it covers version 2.x only and costs more than three years of its yearly plan, so we count the yearly plan in the cost table above.
Terminal and keyboard-heavy demos
Pick ZoomCap. A terminal demo has little to click, so click-based zoom has nothing to aim at. ZoomCap's CLI treats a burst of typing as a zoom: it closes in on the spot you last clicked (usually the pane or field you are typing into), holds while you type, and releases when you pause. It doesn't follow the text cursor, so click the pane first, and it records only the timing of key presses, never which keys. Prequel and Glideo also zoom on typing, according to their sites, but they are Mac-only apps with no terminal recorder and nothing for Linux. If you need typing zoom on Windows, FocuSee says it does that. Our terminal demo guide covers when a text recorder like asciinema is the better choice.
Screen Studio alternative for Linux
Pick ZoomCap's CLI. npx zoomcap record runs on Linux X11 sessions, tracks clicks and typing rhythm, and opens the recording in a browser editor with zooms already placed. It comes with the paid plans ($29 once or $12.49 a month). Linux recording is video only and needs an X11 session; if you are on Wayland, the default on current GNOME and KDE releases, Screenix is built for it. More in Screen Studio for Linux.
Screen Studio alternative on Mac
Pick ZoomCap if you want to pay once and keep footage local. On macOS 15 and later the CLI uses ScreenCaptureKit and records system audio plus mic at 60fps, with click and typing zoom, for $29 once. According to their sites, Screen Studio is the choice if you need motion blur, share links or iPhone and iPad recording and don't mind a subscription, and ScreenKite if you want a native Mac app with three auto-zoom modes at a higher one-time price. Prequel matches ZoomCap's one-time price with share links on Apple Silicon, Glideo is free for individuals in early access, and Smooth Recorder has the lowest paid one-time price here while it is in early access, with clicks-only zoom. Screen Charm, CursorClip and Tight Studio are other Mac-only options. We compare the newest three head to head in ZoomCap vs Prequel, ZoomCap vs Smooth Recorder and ZoomCap vs Glideo.
Screen Studio alternative for Windows
Start with ZoomCap's free browser recorder in Chrome or Edge: it records your screen, a window or a tab plus camera and mic, and the editor gives you backgrounds, captions and zooms that you place by hand, with nothing to install. There is no Windows CLI, so if you need zooms placed automatically on Windows, FocuSee (clicks and typing), CANVID (one-time) or Recordly (free) do that, according to their sites. Our Screen Studio for Windows guide goes through the Windows options in more detail.
Free Screen Studio alternative
Start with ZoomCap's free plan: the browser recorder and editor, with 2 exports a month carrying a small watermark, commercial use allowed. It's the way to see whether ZoomCap earns $29 before you pay. If the budget is $0 for good, OpenScreen and Recordly are open source, zoom automatically and export without a watermark; support is a GitHub issue rather than an inbox. OBS Studio captures but has no zoom or editor, Cap's free plan is for personal use only, and Glideo is free for individuals on a Mac but needs a contract for company use. Our guide to a free online screen recorder covers the browser options.
Async team messages
This is the one job ZoomCap doesn't try to do. “Watch this instead of a meeting” needs instant hosted links, viewer analytics and comments; ZoomCap exports an MP4 that you share yourself. Tella and Loom are built for that, and Cap sits in between. More in Loom is great for messages, bad for demos.
Every Screen Studio alternative, one by one
Each section says what the tool is and who it suits, followed by the facts we checked on September 29, 2026. Unless a section says we tested it, the facts come from the vendor's own site. We start with our pick.
ZoomCap
Our pick, and the one tool here we can describe from daily use. ZoomCap has two recorders. A browser recorder at /record works in Chrome or Edge on any OS, including Windows, and is on the free plan. A CLI, npx zoomcap record, runs on macOS and Linux X11 on the paid plans; on macOS 15 and later it records system audio and mic at 60fps. The CLI's auto-zoom clusters clicks and bursts of typing into zooms that hold and release. The editor runs in your browser: backgrounds, padding, rounded corners, a macOS window frame, 16:9, 9:16, 1:1 and 4:3 with cursor follow, a webcam overlay, automatic captions via in-browser Whisper, trim, split and cut. It exports H.264 MP4 from 720p up to 4K on every plan, or GIF.
Who it's for: founders, developers and marketers who record product demos, want footage to stay on their computer, and would rather pay $29 once (or $12.49 a month) than subscribe. Recordings are edited and encoded on your computer and never uploaded; our security page shows the data flow and how to check it in DevTools. Payments go through Dodo Payments, and if it doesn't work for you, you can get a refund within 14 days under our refund terms. Setup is in the docs.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Pro $12.49/mo · $29 once. Refund: 14 days if it doesn't work for you and can't be fixed.
- Main tradeoff: Pay once and nothing is uploaded, but no Windows CLI, no motion blur and no share links. Our pricing page
Screen Studio
The baseline. A native Mac recorder that zooms toward your clicks, smooths and redraws the cursor, adds motion blur, records a connected iPhone or iPad, and gives you share links. Who it's for: Mac users who record product video every week and will use those extras. According to screen.studio, you can use every feature free except export, which is the way to test it, since fees are non-refundable.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $29/mo · $108/yr ($9/mo billed yearly) · No longer sold to new buyers. Refund: Fees non-refundable per its terms.
- Main tradeoff: The most mature Mac app (motion blur, share links, iOS recording), but a subscription and Mac-only. From the vendor's site
OpenScreen
An MIT-licensed open-source recorder for macOS, Windows and Linux whose zoom follows your cursor. According to its GitHub page it also has cursor smoothing and click effects, motion blur, per-segment speed, GPU export, optional AI editing with your own API key, and a CLI for scripts and CI, with no account and no watermark. Who it's for: people whose budget is $0 and who are comfortable with community support. The project describes itself as under active development with occasional breaking changes, so pin a version for anything scripted. We compare it with ZoomCap in OpenScreen vs ZoomCap.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Free. Refund: Not applicable (free).
- Main tradeoff: Free, open source, with motion blur and per-segment speed; self-described as under active development with occasional breaking changes. From the vendor's site
Recordly
A free, AGPL-3.0 recorder for macOS 14+, Windows 10 and Linux that suggests zooms from your cursor activity. Who it's for: people who want auto-zoom on every OS for free and can live with a smaller editing and audio feature set. See Recordly vs ZoomCap.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Free. Refund: Not applicable (free).
- Main tradeoff: Free on every OS; community-supported, smaller editing and audio feature set. From the vendor's site
OBS Studio
The free, open-source capture and streaming tool. It records any screen, window or source on any platform, and does nothing to the footage afterwards: no zoom, no cursor smoothing, no editor. Who it's for: people who want full control and already have an editor, or who stream. Where it beats ZoomCap is in OBS vs ZoomCap.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Free. Refund: Not applicable (free).
- Main tradeoff: The best free capture and streaming tool; no editor or automatic zoom. From the vendor's site
Tight Studio
A Mac recorder that zooms on every click, with a free-forever plan that exports without a watermark and paid Plus and Pro subscriptions for more clips, share links and AI credits. Who it's for: Apple Silicon Mac users who want a free plan they can actually publish from. It doesn't run on Intel Macs.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Plus $19/mo, Pro $49/mo · Plus $108/yr, Pro $288/yr. Refund: 60 days.
- Main tradeoff: Generous free plan, but Apple Silicon only and paid tiers are subscriptions. From the vendor's site
Cap
An open-source recorder that pairs Screen Studio-style editing with Loom-style share links. The free plan is for personal use only; a one-time desktop licence adds commercial use, and Pro adds cloud features per user. Who it's for: people who want sharing built in and don't mind paying for commercial rights. See Cap vs ZoomCap.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Pro $12/user/mo · Desktop licence $29/yr; Pro about $98/yr · $58 once (desktop licence, commercial use). Refund: not stated on the vendor's page.
- Main tradeoff: Open source with sharing built in; commercial use needs a paid licence. From the vendor's site
ScreenKite
A native Mac app sold as a one-time licence for three Macs, at a founder price that its page says will rise. Every editing feature is free; exports carry a watermark until you buy. It offers three auto-zoom modes and link sharing or your own S3. Who it's for: Mac users who want the closest thing to Screen Studio's feature set without a subscription.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $79.99 once (founder price, then $99.99), 3 Macs. Refund: 14 days.
- Main tradeoff: Feature-rich one-time Mac app; watermark until you buy. From the vendor's site
Glidesmith
A Mac app in early access that zooms on every click and processes everything locally. You can record without limit for free, but free exports are watermarked and cut at two minutes. Who it's for: Mac users who want to pay the least once for a native app. Its price is labelled early access and refunds are case by case, so buy knowing both may change.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $29 once, 1 Mac (early-access price). Refund: Case by case.
- Main tradeoff: Same $29 one-time price as ZoomCap, Mac only, early access. From the vendor's site
Prequel
Best if you need a native app on an Apple Silicon Mac with optional hosted share links, at a one-time price. According to Prequel's site (checked September 2026), it zooms on clicks and on bursts of typing, smooths the cursor, transcribes captions on your Mac and exports MP4 up to 4K; it sells $29 once or $9/mo. Main tradeoff: it runs only on macOS 14+, Apple Silicon only, with no Intel Mac, Windows, Linux or browser version, and there is no free plan after the 7-day trial. ZoomCap costs the same once and you can use its free plan indefinitely. See ZoomCap vs Prequel.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $9/mo · No annual plan · $29 once. Refund: 14 days.
- Main tradeoff: Polish effects and share links, but Apple Silicon Macs only and no free plan after the trial. From the vendor's site
Smooth Recorder
Best if you need the lowest possible one-time price on a current Mac and click-only zoom is enough. According to Smooth Recorder's site (checked September 2026), it costs $9 once during early access, $19 after launch; 1 Mac at a time, and it zooms on clicks only. Main tradeoff: it needs macOS 15 or later, it has no typing zoom, and all sales are final, so you can't get your money back if it doesn't suit your demos. Its site doesn't say what works before you pay. See ZoomCap vs Smooth Recorder.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $9 once during early access, $19 after launch; 1 Mac at a time. Refund: No refunds (all sales final).
- Main tradeoff: Very low early-access price, but clicks-only zoom, no refunds and macOS 15+ only. From the vendor's site
Glideo
Best if you need a free Mac recorder for personal projects. According to Glideo's site (checked September 2026), it is free for individuals with no watermark, smooths and enlarges the cursor, zooms on clicks and (since July 2026) typing, and exports 16:9 or 9:16 up to 4K. Main tradeoff: it is in early access, runs only on macOS 14 or later, and companies need an enterprise contract whose price isn't published, so it isn't a straightforward choice for a work demo. See ZoomCap vs Glideo.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Free for individuals. Refund: Not applicable (free for individuals).
- Main tradeoff: Free for individuals, but early access, Mac-only, and business use needs an unpriced contract. From the vendor's site
CursorClip
A native Mac app for macOS 13.5 and later that zooms as you click and move, works offline, and sells monthly, yearly and one-time licences. Recording and editing are free; export needs a licence. Who it's for: Mac users who want a small native app and a one-time price. Its site says no Windows version is planned.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $9/mo · $29/yr · $70 once. Refund: 14 days.
- Main tradeoff: Clean one-time Mac app; no Windows planned. From the vendor's site
CursorFlow
A Mac app for macOS 15 and later that zooms on every click. Every feature is free, but exports carry a moving watermark until you buy the one-time licence for two Macs. Who it's for: people on a current Mac who want to pay once. Note that the licence includes one year of updates, not lifetime updates.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $70 once, 2 Macs, 1 year of updates. Refund: 14 days.
- Main tradeoff: One-time Mac app; updates last one year. From the vendor's site
Screen Charm
A simple Mac app for Apple Silicon that zooms after every click, keeps files local and offers optional share links. One-time licence for three devices with lifetime updates. Who it's for: Mac users who want a short learning curve and a single payment. Its pricing page doesn't state the free plan's export limits.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $79 once, 3 devices, lifetime updates. Refund: 14 days.
- Main tradeoff: One-time Mac app with captions, motion blur and pause/resume; Apple Silicon only. From the vendor's site
FocuSee
A Windows and Mac recorder whose auto-zoom follows clicks and typing, with AI features paid for in credits. The trial exports one video. Its refund window is 60 days on yearly and lifetime plans, 7 on monthly. Who it's for: mixed Mac and Windows teams, and anyone who wants typing zoom on Windows. See FocuSee vs ZoomCap.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $19.99/mo (1 computer) · $49.99/yr (1 computer) · $199.99 once (FocuSee 2.x only, 5 computers). Refund: 60 days on yearly and lifetime, 7 days on monthly.
- Main tradeoff: Cross-platform with typing zoom, but AI features cost credits and lifetime covers v2 only. From the vendor's site
CANVID
A Windows and Mac recorder that zooms on every click, with a one-time desktop licence for three devices and a Pro subscription for cloud AI and storage. The trial includes everything except export. Who it's for: Windows users who want to pay once. Read its refund terms first: 7 days, with conditions.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Pro $19/mo · Pro $84/yr · $75 once (desktop), 3 devices. Refund: 7 days, conditional.
- Main tradeoff: Cross-platform one-time option; strict refund terms. From the vendor's site
Camtasia
TechSmith's full video editor with a recorder built in. SmartFocus zooms from cursor movement, clicks and scrolling. Perpetual licences are discontinued, so it's a yearly plan now. Who it's for: course and training producers who need a real timeline editor, not only demo effects. For a one-off product demo it's more tool, and more cost, than you need.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Essentials $179.88/yr · Perpetual licences discontinued. Refund: 14 days.
- Main tradeoff: A full video editor with a learning curve and a yearly price. From the vendor's site
Screenix
A Linux-only recorder that supports both X11 and Wayland and zooms from recorded clicks, with a yearly plan or a one-time licence. The trial covers 7 days and up to 10 recordings. Who it's for: Linux users, especially on Wayland, where ZoomCap's CLI doesn't run.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $39/yr · $59 once. Refund: 14 days on lifetime.
- Main tradeoff: Built for Linux, including Wayland; no macOS or Windows. From the vendor's site
Cursorful
A browser extension for Chrome, Edge or Brave that renders locally in the browser. It zooms after two or more clicks within three seconds, which it says avoids constant zooming. The free plan is for non-commercial use and records browser tabs. Who it's for: recording web apps on a machine where you can't install software.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): $79 once (Pro, commercial use). Refund: 14 days.
- Main tradeoff: Nothing to install, but records browser tabs only on the free plan. From the vendor's site
Tella
A cloud recorder with Mac and Windows apps and a Chrome extension, built around hosted video pages, editing and sharing. Auto-zoom works from clicks and cursor data. There is no free plan, only a 7-day trial. Who it's for: teams whose videos live as links, not files. See Tella vs ZoomCap.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Pro $26/user/mo · Pro $156/yr. Refund: not stated on the vendor's page.
- Main tradeoff: Strong hosted editing and sharing, but cloud-based and a subscription. From the vendor's site
Loom
Not a Screen Studio replacement, but people ask. Loom has no automatic zoom; it is built for quick async messages with instant links, on every platform including phones. The free plan limits you to 25 videos per person, 5 minutes each, at 720p. Who it's for: “watch this instead of a meeting,” not launch demos.
- Price (checked Sep 2026): Business $18/user/mo · Business $180/yr. Refund: not stated on the vendor's page.
- Main tradeoff: Best for quick async messages to a team; no automatic zoom. From the vendor's site
Mistakes to avoid when switching
- Ignoring the licence on free plans. Cap's free plan and Cursorful's are for personal or non-commercial use. They don't cover your company's launch video, and Glideo's free use is for individuals, with companies on an enterprise contract. OpenScreen (MIT), OBS Studio and ZoomCap's free plan do allow commercial use.
- Forgetting the watermark. Free exports from ScreenKite, CursorFlow, Glidesmith and ZoomCap carry a watermark, and Glidesmith also cuts free exports at two minutes. Fine for testing, not for a launch.
- Buying a Mac-only tool for a mixed team. 10 tools here run only on macOS: Screen Studio, ScreenKite, Tight Studio, Glidesmith, CursorClip, CursorFlow, Screen Charm, Prequel, Smooth Recorder and Glideo. Check the platforms column first.
- Not testing on your real footage. Every tool looks good on its own demo. Record the same 30-second flow in two of them before you pay. Most of these let you record and edit for free, and some (Screen Studio and Smooth Recorder among them) don't refund.
When not to use ZoomCap
ZoomCap is the wrong tool in a few specific cases:
- You need automatic zoom on Windows. There's no Windows CLI; the browser recorder's zooms are placed by hand. FocuSee or CANVID do it automatically.
- You record on Wayland, or need audio on Linux. The Linux CLI records X11 video only. Screenix supports Wayland.
- You need motion blur, hosted share links or iPhone recording. Screen Studio has all three.
- It must cost $0 with no watermark, forever. OpenScreen and Recordly are free and open source.
When Screen Studio is still worth paying for
If you record product video several times a week on a Mac and your audience notices motion blur, or you need share links and iPhone or iPad recording, Screen Studio's $108 a year buys those. If none of that applies, you're paying $295 more over three years than ZoomCap for features you won't use. For a head-to-head, read ZoomCap vs Screen Studio.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best Screen Studio alternative?
We recommend ZoomCap (we make it, so weigh that). It records in the browser with nothing to install, on any OS, and adds a terminal recorder for macOS and Linux; no other paid tool we checked offers both. It costs $29 once instead of Screen Studio's $324 over three years on the yearly plan, its CLI zooms on your clicks and on bursts of typing, and recordings are edited on your computer and never uploaded. Pick something else if you need motion blur or hosted share links (Screen Studio), automatic zoom on Windows (FocuSee) or a tool that costs nothing at all (OpenScreen).
Is there a free Screen Studio alternative?
Yes. ZoomCap's free plan gives you the browser recorder and editor with 2 exports a month (small watermark, commercial use allowed), so you can try it on a real demo before paying $29 once. If it must cost $0 forever, the open-source OpenScreen and Recordly zoom automatically and export without a watermark, with community support rather than a support inbox; OBS Studio is free too but has no automatic zoom or editor. Glideo is free for individuals on macOS 14+, but it is in early access and companies need an enterprise contract. Cap's free plan is for personal use only.
What is the cheapest Screen Studio alternative?
ZoomCap at $29 once is the only paid option that records in the browser with nothing to install, runs on Linux and has a terminal recorder, with zoom on clicks and typing. That is $295 less than Screen Studio's yearly plan over three years. Among Mac-only apps, according to their sites (checked September 2026), Smooth Recorder costs less during early access ($9 once during early access, $19 after launch; 1 Mac at a time) but zooms on clicks only and gives no refunds, and Prequel and Glidesmith match $29 one-time. Free tools such as OpenScreen and Recordly exist if you can do without support, and Glideo is free for individuals on a Mac. Next among one-time licences come Cap's desktop licence at $58 and Screenix (Linux only) at $59.
Is there a Screen Studio alternative for Windows or Linux?
Yes. Screen Studio is macOS-only. On Linux, ZoomCap's CLI records X11 sessions (video only) with automatic zoom on clicks and typing; Screenix covers Wayland. On Windows, ZoomCap's free browser recorder runs in Chrome or Edge with zooms you place by hand; if you need automatic zoom on Windows, FocuSee, CANVID and Recordly do it.
Does Screen Studio still offer a lifetime license?
No. Screen Studio stopped selling one-time licences to new buyers in late September 2025. As of September 2026 the only plans are $29 a month or $108 a year. Licences bought before the change still work.
Is this comparison biased?
It could be: we make ZoomCap, one of the tools compared, and we benefit when you pick it. To make that checkable, every price links to the vendor's own page and was checked on September 29, 2026, we label which tools we tested ourselves and which facts come from vendor sites, ZoomCap's limits are stated next to our pick, and other tools are named for the specific cases where they fit better (motion blur, automatic zoom on Windows, Wayland, a $0 budget). No vendor paid to be included and there are no affiliate links. The full method is on our How we test page.
Try ZoomCap
Record your next demo free at /record, in Chrome or Edge, with nothing to install. When you want unlimited exports without a watermark and the CLI's automatic click and typing zoom, get Lifetime for $29 once (or Pro at $12.49 a month).