Blog
ComparisonSeptember 30, 2026 · 10 min read
By the ZoomCap teamPublished September 30, 2026Facts checked September 29, 2026

ZoomCap vs Prequel: $29 Auto-Zoom Recorders Compared (2026)

ZoomCap and Prequel both cost $29 once and zoom on clicks and typing. ZoomCap adds a free plan, a no-install browser recorder and Linux. Full comparison.

By the ZoomCap team.We make ZoomCap, which appears in this article. Prices and features were checked on each vendor's own site on September 29, 2026. Where we could not test a tool ourselves, we say so. How we test

Short answer

Pick ZoomCap: at the same $29 one-time price as Prequel, it adds a free plan, a browser recorder with nothing to install on any OS (Windows, Intel Macs and Chromebooks included), and a terminal recorder for macOS and Linux that zooms on your clicks and your typing. Recordings are never uploaded. Choose Prequel only if you're on an Apple Silicon Mac and want hosted share links or its perspective and depth effects.

ZoomCap and Prequel are two of the newer Screen Studio alternatives, and on paper they look alike: both are screen recorders with auto zoom on clicks and typing, both process on your machine, and both cost $29 once. The differences are in where they run, what you can do before paying, and what happens after you export. This post goes through each, with a table, costs over three years, and the cases where each fits.

We make ZoomCap, so weigh our view accordingly. We test ZoomCap directly. Every Prequel fact below comes from its own site, checked September 2026; we have not run a hands-on test of Prequel, so we don't rate how its zooms or effects look.

Why ZoomCap, in short

  • A free plan, not just a trial. ZoomCap's free plan gives 2 exports a month with a small watermark, commercial use allowed, with no end date. Prequel has a 7-day trial, then export needs a plan.
  • Nothing to install, on any OS. The recorder at /record runs in Chrome or Edge on Windows, macOS, Linux and ChromeOS.
  • Intel Macs and Linux. The CLI runs on Apple Silicon and Intel Macs and on Linux X11. Prequel is macOS 14+, Apple Silicon only.
  • Zoom on clicks and typing. Same trigger as Prequel, from the CLI's recorded data.
  • Your footage stays on your computer. Recording, editing and export are local, and the video is never uploaded.
  • Exports up to 4K on every plan, as H.264 MP4 or GIF.

How we compared them

We test ZoomCap directly, on the browser recorder and the CLI. For Prequel we read its site on September 29, 2026 and took the price, platforms, zoom trigger, free-plan terms, processing and refund from there. We did not buy a licence or run a structured hands-on test, so we make no claims about the quality of its zooms or effects, its export speed, or its caption and audio options. Where its site didn't state something, the table below says so rather than guessing. The general method is on our how we test page.

ZoomCap vs Prequel side by side

ZoomCapPrequel (from its site)
Price (checked Sep 2026)$29 once, or $12.49/mo$29 once, or $9/mo; no annual plan
Free finished exportYes: 2 a month with a small watermark, commercial use allowedNo free plan; 7-day trial, then export needs a plan
PlatformsBrowser recorder in Chrome or Edge on any OS; CLI on macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel) and Linux X11macOS 14+, Apple Silicon only
Nothing-to-install optionYes, the browser recorderNo, it's a Mac app
Auto-zoom triggerClick clusters and typing bursts from CLI recordings; manual zooms on browser recordingsYes, clicks and typing
EffectsBackgrounds, padding, rounded corners, macOS window frame; no motion blurPerspective and depth effects
CaptionsAutomatic, with in-browser WhisperNot stated
ExportH.264 MP4 from 720p to 4K, or GIF, on every planNot stated
Local vs cloudLocal; video never uploadedLocal, with optional hosted share links
Share linksNo; you share the exported fileYes, hosted (optional)
Refund14 days if it doesn't work for you and we can't fix it14 days
Main tradeoffNo share links, no motion blur, no Windows CLIPolish effects and share links, but Apple Silicon Macs only and no free plan after the trial

Where ZoomCap wins

You can use it before you pay, for as long as you like. ZoomCap's free plan isn't a countdown: record in the browser, edit, and export 2 finished videos a month with a small watermark. Commercial use is allowed, so you can put a free-plan video on a landing page. Prequel, according to its site, gives you seven days and then needs a plan to export. If you record a demo or two a month and a small watermark is fine, ZoomCap may cost you nothing at all.

It runs where Prequel can't. Prequel needs an Apple Silicon Mac on macOS 14 or later. ZoomCap's browser recorder works in Chrome or Edge on Windows, Intel Macs, Linux and Chromebooks, recording a screen, window or tab with camera and mic. Nothing to install and no admin rights, which matters on a managed work laptop. On Windows, browser recordings get zooms you place by hand; automatic zoom comes from the CLI.

A terminal recorder for Mac and Linux. npx zoomcap record runs on Apple Silicon and Intel Macs and on Linux X11. It records your clicks and typing so the editor opens with zooms already placed. On macOS 15 and later it records at 60fps with system audio and mic through ScreenCaptureKit; older macOS falls back to ffmpeg with video only, and Linux is video only. If your team has a mix of Macs and Linux machines, the same command works on both. Our command-line recorder guide has the setup.

Zoom on typing, built for demos where the keyboard does the work. Both tools say they zoom on typing. ZoomCap turns a burst of typing into a zoom aimed at your last click that holds while you type and releases when you stop. It doesn't follow the text caret, so in one very long text area the frame stays where you clicked.

Captions and finishing in one editor. Automatic captions with in-browser Whisper, a webcam bubble, seven music tracks, click sounds, 16:9, 9:16, 1:1 and 4:3 with cursor follow, trim, split and cut, and style presets. Exports go up to 4K on every plan. Prequel's site doesn't state its caption or export options, so check them on its trial.

Private, and you can check how. Recording, editing and export happen on your computer, and the video is never uploaded. For typing zoom we record only when keys were pressed, never which keys. The data flow is on the security page. Payments go through Dodo Payments.

When Prequel fits better

Choose Prequel in these specific cases:

  • You want hosted share links. Prequel offers optional hosted links, according to its site. ZoomCap has no share links, comments or viewer analytics; you export a file and share it yourself.
  • You want perspective or depth effects. Prequel lists them. ZoomCap's framing is backgrounds, padding, rounded corners and a window frame, and it has no motion blur.
  • And you're on an Apple Silicon Mac with macOS 14 or later. Without that, Prequel doesn't run.

Click-and-typing zoom in practice

Both tools list the same trigger, so the difference in day-to-day use is less about the zoom and more about where you can record. Here is how ZoomCap's zoom behaves in the demos people record most.

  • Typing a command in a terminal. You click the terminal pane, then type. ZoomCap zooms toward the pane you clicked and holds while you type, then releases when you stop. The pointer can sit anywhere; the zoom still lands on the work.
  • Filling a sign-up form. Each click-then-type burst becomes its own zoom, so every field gets a readable moment. Because the typing zoom aims at the last click rather than the caret, a single very long text area stays framed on where you clicked.
  • Clicking through a settings page. Nearby clicks are grouped into one zoom instead of a new zoom per click, so the frame doesn't jump around.
  • Talking over the screen with the mouse. ZoomCap's automatic zooms start on clicks and typing, not on pointer movement alone, so the frame stays calm while you explain.

All of that comes from the CLI's recorded click and typing data on macOS or Linux X11. On a browser recording you add each zoom by hand, which takes a click per zoom in the editor. Our guide to zooming in on a screen recording covers manual zooms step by step.

What each costs

Plan1 year2 years3 years
ZoomCap Lifetime$29$29$29
ZoomCap Pro (monthly)$150$300$450
Prequel one-time$29 once$29 once$29 once
Screen Studio yearly, for reference$108$216$324

Prices checked September 2026. On the one-time licence the two tie, so the question is what you get for it. ZoomCap's $29 covers the browser recorder on any OS, the CLI on macOS and Linux, unlimited exports without a watermark, and a 14-day refund if it doesn't work for you and we can't fix it (refund terms). Both are $295 less than three years of Screen Studio's yearly plan, and less than two months of its monthly plan ($29/mo). Full plan details are on the pricing page.

Which to pick for your situation

Your situationBetter pickWhy
You want to try it free without a deadlineZoomCapFree plan with 2 exports a month; Prequel is a 7-day trial
Intel MacZoomCapBrowser recorder and a CLI that supports Intel; Prequel needs Apple Silicon
Windows or ChromebookZoomCapBrowser recorder in Chrome or Edge, with manual zooms
Linux X11ZoomCapCLI with click and typing zoom
You can't install apps on your work machineZoomCapNothing to install
Hosted share links, on an Apple Silicon MacPrequelShare links built in; ZoomCap has none
Perspective or depth effects, on an Apple Silicon MacPrequelListed on its site; not in ZoomCap

Getting started with ZoomCap

In the browser (free, any OS): open /record in Chrome or Edge, pick a screen, window or tab, add camera and mic if you want them, and record. The editor opens when you stop. Add zooms, a background and captions, then export as MP4 or GIF. You get 2 exports a month with a small watermark, and commercial use is allowed.

From the terminal (Pro or Lifetime, macOS or Linux X11): run npx zoomcap doctor once to check screen-recording and input permissions, then npx zoomcap record. On a Mac a ● REC item appears in the menu bar; stop with q or ⌃⌥S and the editor opens with zooms already placed from your clicks and typing. With more than one monitor, npx zoomcap displays lists them. Our command-line recorder guide covers the rest.

Other options

If Prequel appeals because it's a small, new Mac app, two others in the same group are worth knowing. Glideo is free for individuals on macOS 14+, with a contract for companies (see ZoomCap vs Glideo). Smooth Recorder is cheaper in early access, with clicks-only zoom and no refunds (see ZoomCap vs Smooth Recorder). If motion blur is the effect you're after, Screen Charm lists it; our underrated alternatives list covers all of them with a scorecard.

How to compare them yourself in fifteen minutes

  1. Open /record in Chrome or Edge, record a one-minute demo of your product, add two or three zooms, and export with one of your free monthly exports.
  2. If you're on an Apple Silicon Mac, start Prequel's trial and record the same demo.
  3. Watch both at phone size and check the text you type is readable when it matters. If your demo is mostly typing, try ZoomCap's CLI, which places those zooms for you.
  4. Decide whether you'll share by link or by file. If by link, Prequel has it built in; if you post to a site, docs or a launch page, a file is what you need anyway.

When not to use ZoomCap

Skip ZoomCap if you need hosted share links or comments, motion blur, per-section speed ramps, automatic zoom in Windows desktop apps, or recording on Linux Wayland. The full list of limits is in the box at the end of this post. For the wider field, see our Screen Studio alternatives roundup and the underrated alternatives list.

Frequently asked questions

Is ZoomCap or Prequel better?

For most setups ZoomCap covers more: a free plan, a browser recorder with nothing to install on any OS, a terminal recorder on macOS (Apple Silicon and Intel) and Linux, zoom on clicks and typing, and recordings that are never uploaded, for $29 once. Prequel fits if you're on an Apple Silicon Mac and specifically want hosted share links or its perspective and depth effects.

Do ZoomCap and Prequel cost the same?

The one-time price is the same: ZoomCap is $29 once and Prequel lists $29 once, according to its site (checked September 2026). Monthly, ZoomCap Pro is $12.49 and Prequel is $9/mo. The difference is before you pay: ZoomCap has a free plan with 2 exports a month, while Prequel has a 7-day trial and then needs a plan to export.

Does Prequel work on Intel Macs or Windows?

No. According to its site, Prequel requires macOS 14+, Apple Silicon only. ZoomCap's browser recorder runs in Chrome or Edge on Intel Macs, Windows, Linux and ChromeOS, and its CLI runs on Apple Silicon and Intel Macs and on Linux X11.

Do both zoom on typing?

Yes. Prequel's site says it zooms on clicks and typing. ZoomCap's CLI groups clicks into zooms and turns bursts of typing into a zoom aimed at your last click; it doesn't follow the text caret. On ZoomCap browser recordings you place zooms by hand.

Where does ZoomCap store my recordings?

On your computer. ZoomCap records, edits and encodes locally and never uploads your video; for typing zoom it records only when keys were pressed, never which keys. Payments go through Dodo Payments, and there's a 14-day refund if it doesn't work for you and we can't fix it. Prequel also processes locally, with optional hosted share links, according to its site.

Try ZoomCap

Record free in your browser with nothing to install and 2 exports a month, or get the terminal recorder and unlimited 4K exports for $29 once, with a 14-day refund policy. Other head-to-heads: ZoomCap vs Smooth Recorder and ZoomCap vs Glideo.

What ZoomCap costs

Checked September 29, 2026

Free

$0

Browser recorder and editor, 2 exports a month with a small watermark.

Lifetime

$29

One payment. Unlimited exports, no watermark, the CLI, 4K export.

Pro

$12.49/mo

Same features as Lifetime, cancel anytime.

Over three years, ZoomCap Lifetime costs $29 and Screen Studio's yearly plan costs $324 ($108 a year), a difference of $295. Of the 21 recorders we price-checked, ZoomCap is the only one at $29 one-time that records in the browser with nothing to install, zooms on both clicks and typing, and runs from the terminal on macOS and Linux. Start free, and pay once only if it earns it.

14-day refund window on paid plans · refund terms · pricing page

Is ZoomCap safe?

Your recordings
Recorded, edited and encoded on your own computer. Video never goes to our servers: the CLI hands the file to the editor over localhost. See the data flow
Keystrokes
Only the timing of key presses, to drive typing zoom. Which keys you pressed is never captured or stored.
Account and payments
Sign-in and licence records are held by Google Firebase. Payments are processed by Dodo Payments, so we never see your card. Privacy policy
Refunds and support
If ZoomCap doesn't work for you and we can't fix it, email us within 14 days for a refund. Commercial use is allowed on every plan. Contact us · About ZoomCap

What ZoomCap doesn't do

  • No Windows CLI yet. On Windows, use the free browser recorder in Chrome or Edge.
  • No motion blur.
  • Speed changes apply to the whole video (1×, 1.5× or 2×), not per section.
  • Automatic zoom needs the CLI's click data. On browser recordings and imported videos you place zooms by hand.
  • On Linux the CLI records video only (X11 sessions, no Wayland, no system audio yet).
  • No hosted share links, comments or viewer analytics. You export a file and share it yourself.