Blog
ComparisonSeptember 29, 2026 · 17 min read
By the ZoomCap teamPublished September 29, 2026Facts checked September 29, 2026

Best Screen Recorder for Product Demos in 2026 (Our Pick + 8 More)

Our pick for product demos is ZoomCap: auto zoom on clicks and typing, local export, $29 once. Plus 8 alternatives by use case, with a 3-year cost table.

By the ZoomCap team.We make ZoomCap, which appears in this article. Prices and features were checked on each vendor's own site on September 29, 2026. Where we could not test a tool ourselves, we say so. How we test

Short answer

Our pick: ZoomCap — $29 once instead of Screen Studio's $324 over three years, zooms on your clicks and your typing, and your recordings never leave your computer. Try it free in the browser, nothing to install.

Pick something else only if: you need motion blur or hosted share links (Screen Studio), automatic zoom on Windows (FocuSee), or it must cost $0 (OpenScreen).

A product demo is a different job from a meeting recording. The viewer needs to see the one button that matters, read the text around it, and follow the cursor on a phone-sized player. So the best screen recorder for product demos is the one that makes those three things easy: for a muted landing-page loop, a 60-second launch video, a sales follow-up or an onboarding clip. Our pick is ZoomCap, and we explain why first. After it come nine other tools, each named for the narrow job it does better, with the price checked on each vendor's own site in September 2026 and the main tradeoff of each.

Why ZoomCap is our pick for product demos

We make ZoomCap, so weigh this accordingly. Here is the case in checkable terms:

  • You pay once. $29 once (or $12.49/month). Over three years Lifetime is $295 less than Screen Studio's yearly plan, and less than one year of FocuSee's yearly plan ($49.99/yr (1 computer)). Of the 18 other recorders we price-checked, only Glidesmith (Mac only, early access) matches $29 one-time.
  • It zooms where demos actually happen. The CLI clusters clicks and bursts of typing into zooms that hold and release, so a form fill, a search box or a terminal command gets a zoom, not only a button click.
  • Nothing is uploaded. Recordings are edited and encoded on your computer. Unreleased features and customer data in your demo stay on your machine; see the data flow on our security page.
  • Free to try in the browser. The recorder at /record runs in Chrome or Edge on any OS, including Windows, with nothing to install.
  • Demo-ready output. Backgrounds, padding, a macOS window frame, 16:9, 9:16, 1:1 and 4:3 with cursor follow, a webcam overlay, automatic captions for muted autoplay, and MP4 export up to 4K on every plan.

How we picked and what we tested

We started from the 18 other recorders we price-check for this blog and kept the ones that suit product demos: tools that zoom into the action (automatically or easily by hand), keep the cursor readable, and export or share something a buyer will actually watch. ZoomCap is our overall pick; every other tool is listed with the specific situation where it fits better.

Each claim below carries one of three evidence labels, as described on our how we test page:

  • Tested by us: ZoomCap and OBS Studio. We record with both regularly.
  • From the vendor: everything about the paid apps (Screen Studio, Tight Studio, FocuSee, Tella, Loom, Glidesmith, Screenix and Camtasia) and the open-source projects (OpenScreen and Recordly) comes from their own pricing pages, sites or GitHub READMEs, checked in September 2026. We did not buy licences for the paid apps to test them hands-on.
  • Unverified: where a vendor's page did not say something (a refund policy, for example), we write that it was not stated.

The picks at a glance

Prices were checked on each vendor's site in September 2026. “Free finished export” means whether you can export a usable video without paying.

PickToolPrice (checked Sep 2026)Free finished exportPlatformsLocal vs cloudAuto-zoom triggerMain tradeoff
Best overall for product demos (ours)ZoomCap$29 once (or $12.49/month)Yes, 2 exports a month with a small watermark (browser recorder)Browser recorder on any OS (Chrome or Edge); CLI on macOS and Linux (X11)Local; nothing uploadedClicks and typing bursts, CLI recordings onlyNo motion blur, no share links, no Windows CLI
If you need motion blur or iPhone recording (Mac)Screen Studio$29/mo · $108/yr ($9/mo billed yearly) · No longer sold to new buyersFree download to try; exporting needs a planmacOS only (Ventura 13.1+); no Windows plansLocal, with optional share linksYes, from clicksThe most mature Mac app (motion blur, share links, iOS recording), but a subscription and Mac-only
If it must cost $0 (open source)OpenScreenFreeFree for personal and commercial use, no watermark, no account (MIT)macOS, Windows, Linux; also a CLI for scripts and CILocal, GPU export; optional AI editing with your own API keyYes, follows the cursorFree, open source, with motion blur and per-segment speed; self-described as under active development with occasional breaking changes
If it must cost $0 (open source)RecordlyFreeFree and open source (AGPL-3.0), no limitsmacOS 14+, Windows 10, LinuxLocalYes, zoom suggestions from cursor activityFree on every OS; community-supported, smaller editing and audio feature set
Free plan on Apple Silicon MacsTight StudioPlus $19/mo, Pro $49/mo · Plus $108/yr, Pro $288/yrFree forever, standard exports without watermark; limited clips, share links and AI creditsmacOS, Apple Silicon onlyLocal; cloud share links and AI creditsYes, on every clickGenerous free plan, but Apple Silicon only and paid tiers are subscriptions
Automatic zoom on WindowsFocuSee$19.99/mo (1 computer) · $49.99/yr (1 computer) · $199.99 once (FocuSee 2.x only, 5 computers)Trial exports one videoWindows and macOSLocal editing; AI features use paid creditsYes, follows clicks and typingCross-platform with typing zoom, but AI features cost credits and lifetime covers v2 only
Demos that live as hosted pagesTellaPro $26/user/mo · Pro $156/yrNo free plan (7-day trial)macOS, Windows, Chrome extensionCloudYes, from clicks and cursor dataStrong hosted editing and sharing, but cloud-based and a subscription
Quick async messagesLoomBusiness $18/user/mo · Business $180/yr25 videos per person, 5-minute limit, 720pmacOS, Windows, Chrome extension, iOS, AndroidCloudNoBest for quick async messages to a team; no automatic zoom
Native Mac app at the same one-time priceGlidesmith$29 once, 1 Mac (early-access price)Unlimited recording; exports watermarked and cut at 2 minutesmacOS 13.1+Local onlyYes, every clickSame $29 one-time price as ZoomCap, Mac only, early access
Linux on WaylandScreenix$39/yr · $59 once7-day trial, up to 10 recordingsLinux only (X11 and Wayland)Local, optional hosted share linksYes, from recorded clicksBuilt for Linux, including Wayland; no macOS or Windows
Long courses in a full timeline editorCamtasiaEssentials $179.88/yr · Perpetual licences discontinuedTrial with watermarked exportsWindows 10/11, macOS 14+LocalYes, SmartFocus from cursor, clicks and scrollingA full video editor with a learning curve and a yearly price

What a product demo recorder needs

A general screen recorder captures pixels. A product demo recorder has to make those pixels readable in a small player and watchable without sound. In practice that means six things:

  1. Zoom into the action. A full 1440p or 4K screen shown in a 600-pixel-wide player makes UI text unreadable. Automatic zoom from clicks saves most of the editing time; manual zoom works too, it just takes longer. Our guide to zooming in on a screen recording covers both.
  2. A cursor people can follow. Tools that record cursor data separately can redraw it larger and smoother than the system pointer.
  3. Captions. Landing pages and social feeds start video muted, so the words need to be on screen.
  4. Framing. A background, padding and rounded corners turn a raw capture into something that looks like a product shot.
  5. The right output. Either an MP4 you own (for your site, YouTube, X or LinkedIn) or a hosted link with viewer analytics (for sales and team messages). Few tools do both well.
  6. Your platform. Many of the best-known auto-zoom recorders are Mac-only. That rules them out for a Windows or Linux team, however good they are.

ZoomCap covers all six for an exported demo; the sections below show how.

1. Best overall for product demos: ZoomCap

Evidence: tested by us (we make it). ZoomCap has two ways to record. A free browser recorder at /record works in Chrome or Edge on any OS, including Windows, and captures a screen, window or tab plus your camera and mic. A command-line recorder, npx zoomcap record, runs on macOS and Linux (X11) and records click and typing data, which the editor turns into zooms that hold and release. On macOS 15 and later the CLI records system audio and mic at 60fps. Both open in a browser editor with backgrounds, padding, a macOS window frame, a webcam overlay, captions generated on your machine with Whisper, seven music tracks, and MP4 export from 720p to 4K or GIF.

Why it wins for demos: typing zoom is the part most tools skip. A demo is often “type a query, see the result”, and click-only zoom has nothing to aim at while you type. ZoomCap's typing zoom closes in on the spot you last clicked and holds while you type. It records the timing of key presses only, never which keys.

Price: $29 once (or $12.49/month); the free plan includes 2 watermarked exports a month. Over three years, Lifetime is $295 less than Screen Studio's yearly plan. Commercial use is allowed on every plan. Payments go through Dodo Payments, and if it doesn't work for you and we can't fix it, you get a refund within 14 days under our refund terms.

On Linux: the CLI records X11 sessions and tracks clicks for automatic zoom; run echo $XDG_SESSION_TYPE to check you are on x11. Linux recording is video only for now, so record narration separately. More in Screen Studio for Linux.

Its real limits: automatic zoom needs the CLI's click data, so browser recordings and imported videos get zooms placed by hand. Typing zoom aims at your last click, not the text caret. There is no motion blur, speed changes apply to the whole video (1×, 1.5× or 2×), there is no Windows CLI, and there are no hosted share links. You export a file and share it yourself. Setup is in the docs.

2. If you need motion blur or iPhone recording: Screen Studio

Evidence: from the vendor. According to Screen Studio's site (checked September 2026), it records your Mac screen, zooms in automatically on clicks, smooths the cursor, adds motion blur to zooms and cursor movement, can record an iPhone or iPad connected to the Mac, and offers optional share links. It runs on macOS Ventura 13.1 or later and has no Windows version planned.

When it fits better: you are on a Mac, you want motion blur on zooms and cursor movement (ZoomCap doesn't have it), you record iOS apps, or you want hosted share links, and a subscription is fine.

Price: $29/mo or $108/yr ($9/mo billed yearly). The lifetime licence is no longer sold to new buyers. Its terms say fees are non-refundable, so use the free download to try the editor before you pay (exporting needs a plan).

Main tradeoff: a subscription, and Mac-only. Over three years the yearly plan comes to $324, against $29 once for ZoomCap. Our Screen Studio pricing breakdown has the details, and ZoomCap vs Screen Studio compares the two directly.

3. If it must cost $0: OpenScreen or Recordly

Evidence: from each project's site and GitHub page. Two open-source projects give you automatic zoom for nothing, on all three desktop platforms.

OpenScreen

OpenScreen is MIT-licensed and free for personal and commercial use, with no watermark and no account. It runs on macOS, Windows, Linux; also a CLI for scripts and CI. Its zoom follows the cursor. The project describes itself as under active development with occasional breaking changes.

Recordly

Recordly is AGPL-3.0 and also free with no limits. It runs on macOS 14+, Windows 10, Linux and suggests zooms from cursor activity, which you then accept or adjust.

When they fit better: the budget is zero and you are comfortable with community support.

Main tradeoff: both are community projects. There is no paid support, and the editing and audio feature sets are smaller than the commercial apps. We have written side-by-side posts on OpenScreen vs ZoomCap and Recordly vs ZoomCap.

If you only need capture: OBS Studio (tested by us) is free on Windows, macOS and Linux and records anything reliably. It has no editor and no automatic zoom (only through third-party plugins), so you would zoom in a separate editor afterwards. We compared it in OBS vs ZoomCap.

4. Free plan on Apple Silicon: Tight Studio

Evidence: from the vendor. Tight Studio's pricing page (checked September 2026) describes its free plan as “Free forever, standard exports without watermark; limited clips, share links and AI credits”. It zooms on every click and processes locally, with cloud share links and AI credits on top.

When it fits better: you are on an Apple Silicon Mac and want a free plan whose standard exports carry no watermark.

Price: free, or Plus $19/mo, Pro $49/mo (Plus $108/yr, Pro $288/yr). Refund window: 60 days.

Main tradeoff: it runs on macOS, Apple Silicon only, so Intel Macs, Windows and Linux are out, and the paid tiers are subscriptions.

5. Automatic zoom on Windows: FocuSee

Evidence: from the vendor. FocuSee runs on Windows and macOS. Its site says the auto-zoom follows both clicks and typing, and editing happens locally, with AI features paid for in credits.

When it fits better: you record on Windows and want zooms placed automatically. ZoomCap's browser recorder works on Windows, but its zooms are placed by hand there. FocuSee's refund window is 60 days on yearly and lifetime, 7 days on monthly.

Price: $19.99/mo (1 computer), $49.99/yr (1 computer), or $199.99 once (FocuSee 2.x only, 5 computers). The free trial exports one video.

Main tradeoff: AI features cost credits on top of the plan, and the lifetime licence covers version 2 only. More Windows options are in Screen Studio alternatives for Windows, and FocuSee vs ZoomCap compares the two in detail.

6. Demos as hosted pages: Tella

Evidence: from the vendor. Tella records on macOS, Windows or through a Chrome extension, edits in the cloud, and publishes each video as a hosted page. Its site says zooms are added from clicks and cursor data.

When it fits better: the demo will live on a link (a sales email, a help-centre article, a changelog) rather than as a file on your site, and you want to edit it after you share it.

Price: Pro $26/user/mo (Pro $156/yr). No free plan (7-day trial).

Main tradeoff: recordings are processed and stored in the cloud, it is a per-user subscription, and there is no free plan. See Tella vs ZoomCap.

7. Quick async messages: Loom

Evidence: from the vendor. Loom runs on macOS, Windows, Chrome extension, iOS, Android. Record, and a link is ready when you stop. Viewers can comment and react, and you see who watched.

When it fits better: a one-to-one sales follow-up or a note to your team, where speed from “stop” to “sent” matters more than zooms or framing.

Price: free tier with 25 videos per person, 5-minute limit, 720p; Business $18/user/mo (Business $180/yr).

Main tradeoff: no automatic zoom, so a full-screen recording stays full-screen, and it is cloud-hosted. For launch videos and landing pages, we explain the difference in Loom is great for messages, bad for demos.

8. Native Mac app at the same one-time price: Glidesmith

Evidence: from the vendor. Glidesmith is a Mac app (macOS 13.1+) that zooms on every click and works locally only. Price: $29 once, 1 Mac (early-access price). Its free version: “Unlimited recording; exports watermarked and cut at 2 minutes”. Refunds are handled case by case.

When it fits better: you are Mac-only and want a native app with a Dock icon rather than a terminal command plus a browser editor. It matches ZoomCap's $29 price, but for one Mac and in early access; its site describes zoom on clicks, not typing, and it has no Linux or Windows version.

9. Linux on Wayland: Screenix

Screen Studio does not run on Linux, and most of its alternatives don't either. On an X11 session, ZoomCap's CLI is our pick (see section 1). Run echo $XDG_SESSION_TYPE in a terminal: if it prints wayland, look at Screenix.

Evidence: from the vendor. Screenix is built only for Linux and, per its site, supports both X11 and Wayland, zooms from recorded clicks, and offers optional hosted share links. Price: $39/yr or $59 once, with a free trial (“7-day trial, up to 10 recordings”). Refund: 14 days on lifetime.

When it fits better: Wayland, the default on most current GNOME and KDE setups, which the ZoomCap CLI does not support. More options are in Screen Studio for Linux: 6 alternatives.

10. Long courses in a full editor: Camtasia

Evidence: from the vendor. Camtasia is a screen recorder attached to a complete timeline editor: multiple tracks, annotations, transitions and templates. Its site describes SmartFocus, which adds zooms from cursor, click and scrolling data. It runs on Windows 10/11, macOS 14+.

When it fits better: long-form training and course videos, where you need several tracks, callouts and chapter-length edits.

Price: Essentials $179.88/yr; perpetual licences discontinued. The trial exports with a watermark. Refund: 14 days.

Main tradeoff: a learning curve and a yearly price that, over three years, is second only to Loom's in the cost table below. For a 60-second launch demo it is more tool than you need.

What each costs over three years

Monthly prices hide the real difference. This table uses the cheapest plan without a watermark or export cap for each tool, as listed on the vendor's pricing page in September 2026. Per-user plans are shown for one person.

ZoomCap: $29 once — our pick. That is $295 less than Screen Studio's yearly plan over three years, with nothing uploaded and a free browser recorder to try first.
ToolPlan used3-year costRefund policy (per vendor)
OpenScreenFree$0Not applicable (free)
RecordlyFree$0Not applicable (free)
OBS StudioFree$0Not applicable (free)
Tight StudioFree plan (standard exports)$060 days
ZoomCap (our pick)Lifetime$2914 days if it doesn't work for you
GlidesmithOne-time licence$29Case by case
ScreenixOne-time licence$5914 days on lifetime
FocuSeeYearly$149.9760 days on yearly and lifetime, 7 days on monthly
Screen StudioYearly$324Fees non-refundable per its terms
TellaYearly, one user$468Not stated on the vendor's page
CamtasiaYearly$539.6414 days
LoomYearly, one user$540Not stated on the vendor's page
ZoomCap ProMonthly$45014 days if it doesn't work for you

A subscription includes updates and, for hosted tools, storage and sharing. And free is not free if it costs you an extra hour of manual zooming per video.

Which one to pick, by situation

Your situationPickWhy
Launch videos, landing-page demos, onboarding clips on Mac or Linux X11ZoomCapClick and typing zoom, local-only, $29 once
You want to try before paying, on any OSZoomCap's free browser recorderNothing to install; 2 exports a month free
You need motion blur, share links or iPhone recording on a MacScreen StudioHas all three, on a subscription
Windows, and zooms must be placed automaticallyFocuSeeAuto-zoom on clicks and typing on Windows
The budget is $0, any OSOpenScreen or RecordlyFree, open source, community-supported
Apple Silicon Mac, free plan without a watermarkTight StudioFree standard exports per its pricing page
Demos live on links in sales emails and help docsTellaHosted pages with auto-zoom
Quick walkthroughs to teammates or prospectsLoomLink ready instantly, comments and view tracking
Mac only, want a native app with a Dock iconGlidesmithSame one-time price as ZoomCap, one Mac
Linux on WaylandScreenixBuilt for Linux, supports Wayland
Long training courses, many tracks and calloutsCamtasiaA complete editor
You just need raw capture and will edit elsewhereOBS StudioFree, records anything, every OS

Whatever you choose, the recording tool matters less than the prep: a seeded demo account, one clear outcome, notifications off and a window sized for video. Our guide on how to record a product demo has a script template and a prep checklist, and how to make a demo video for your website covers embedding it without slowing the page.

When not to use ZoomCap

ZoomCap is the wrong tool in a few specific cases:

  • You need motion blur, hosted share links or iPhone recording. Screen Studio has them.
  • You need automatic zoom on Windows. ZoomCap has no Windows CLI, so on Windows you place zooms by hand in the browser recorder. FocuSee zooms automatically there.
  • You are on Linux Wayland, or you need audio on Linux. The ZoomCap CLI is X11 only and records video only on Linux. Screenix supports Wayland.
  • You need multi-track editing or per-section speed ramps. Camtasia is a full editor; ZoomCap's speed setting applies to the whole video.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best screen recorder for product demos?

We recommend ZoomCap (we make it, so weigh that). It costs $29 once instead of Screen Studio's $324 over three years on the yearly plan, its CLI zooms on your clicks and on bursts of typing, recordings never leave your computer, and you can try it free in the browser with nothing to install. Pick something else if you need motion blur or hosted share links (Screen Studio), automatic zoom on Windows (FocuSee) or a tool that costs nothing at all (OpenScreen). Prices checked September 2026.

Is there a free screen recorder for product demos with automatic zoom?

ZoomCap's free plan lets you record and edit in the browser with 2 exports a month (small watermark, commercial use allowed), with zooms you place by hand; automatic click and typing zoom comes with the CLI on Lifetime ($29 once) or Pro. If you need automatic zoom at no cost, OpenScreen (MIT) and Recordly (AGPL-3.0) are open source and add zooms from cursor activity, according to their project pages, with community support only. Tight Studio's free plan exports standard videos without a watermark on Apple Silicon Macs.

Should a product demo be recorded with Loom?

For a quick async walkthrough to a teammate or a prospect, Loom's instant link, comments and view notifications are handy. For a launch video or a landing-page demo, record it in ZoomCap instead: it zooms into the action and exports a file you own, up to 4K. Loom has no automatic zoom, and its free plan limits videos to 5 minutes at 720p.

Is this comparison biased?

We make ZoomCap and we rank it first, so weigh that. To keep it checkable, every price comes from the vendor's own pricing page (checked September 2026), we say which tools we tested ourselves and which facts come from vendor sites, ZoomCap's limits are stated next to our pick, and we name the specific cases where another tool fits better. No vendor paid to be included and there are no affiliate links.

Where does ZoomCap store my recordings?

On your computer. ZoomCap records, edits and encodes locally, and the video is never uploaded to its servers. There are no hosted share links: you export an MP4 or GIF and put it wherever you like. The security page describes the data flow.

Record your next demo with ZoomCap

Record free at /record in Chrome or Edge, with nothing to install, and see what your demo looks like with a background, captions and zooms. When you want unlimited exports without a watermark and automatic click and typing zoom from the CLI, get Lifetime for $29 once. For a wider list focused on the zoom feature itself, see screen recorders with auto zoom, and for alternatives to one app in particular, Screen Studio alternatives.

What ZoomCap costs

Checked September 29, 2026

Free

$0

Browser recorder and editor, 2 exports a month with a small watermark.

Lifetime

$29

One payment. Unlimited exports, no watermark, the CLI, 4K export.

Pro

$12.49/mo

Same features as Lifetime, cancel anytime.

Over three years, ZoomCap Lifetime costs $29 and Screen Studio's yearly plan costs $324 ($108 a year), a difference of $295. Of the 18 recorders we price-checked, ZoomCap is the only one at $29 one-time that records in the browser with nothing to install, zooms on both clicks and typing, and runs from the terminal on macOS and Linux. Start free, and pay once only if it earns it.

14-day refund window on paid plans · refund terms · pricing page

Is ZoomCap safe?

Your recordings
Recorded, edited and encoded on your own computer. Video never goes to our servers: the CLI hands the file to the editor over localhost. See the data flow
Keystrokes
Only the timing of key presses, to drive typing zoom. Which keys you pressed is never captured or stored.
Account and payments
Sign-in and licence records are held by Google Firebase. Payments are processed by Dodo Payments, so we never see your card. Privacy policy
Refunds and support
If ZoomCap doesn't work for you and we can't fix it, email us within 14 days for a refund. Commercial use is allowed on every plan. Contact us · About ZoomCap

What ZoomCap doesn't do

  • No Windows CLI yet. On Windows, use the free browser recorder in Chrome or Edge.
  • No motion blur.
  • Speed changes apply to the whole video (1×, 1.5× or 2×), not per section.
  • Automatic zoom needs the CLI's click data. On browser recordings and imported videos you place zooms by hand.
  • On Linux the CLI records video only (X11 sessions, no Wayland, no system audio yet).
  • No hosted share links, comments or viewer analytics. You export a file and share it yourself.