By the ZoomCap team.We make ZoomCap, which appears in this article. Prices and features were checked on each vendor's own site on September 29, 2026. Where we could not test a tool ourselves, we say so. How we test
Short answer
Our pick: ZoomCap — $29 once instead of Screen Studio's $324 over three years, zooms on your clicks and your typing, and your recordings never leave your computer. Try it free in the browser, nothing to install.
Pick something else only if: you need motion blur or hosted share links (Screen Studio), automatic zoom on Windows (FocuSee), or it must cost $0 (OpenScreen).
A screen recorder with auto zoom logs where you click (and in some tools, when you type) while you record. It then animates the frame toward each action, so small interface details stay readable. We checked 17 auto zoom screen recorders on September 29, 2026: free and paid, for Mac, Windows, Linux and the browser. Our pick is ZoomCap, which we make; the reasons are below, with its limits stated. The other tools' facts come from their vendors' sites, and each is listed with the specific case where it fits better.
TL;DR
- Best overall auto zoom screen recorder: ZoomCap (ours). Zooms on clicks and typing, $29 once, local-only, CLI on macOS and Linux X11, free browser recorder on any OS.
- If you need motion blur, iPhone recording or share links: Screen Studio, on a subscription.
- If you need automatic zoom on Windows: FocuSee or CANVID.
- If you record on Linux Wayland: Screenix.
- If it must cost $0: OpenScreen or Recordly (open source, community support).
- If your videos live as hosted links with analytics: Tella.
Why ZoomCap is our pick for auto zoom
- It zooms on typing, not only clicks. Terminals, IDEs, search boxes and forms get zooms too. The CLI groups a click and the typing that follows into one steady zoom aimed at that field. Of the 16 other auto zoom tools here, only FocuSee also says it zooms on typing.
- You pay once. $29 once (or $12.49 a month), which is $295 less than three years of Screen Studio's yearly plan. Of the 18 recorders we price-checked, only Glidesmith (Mac only, early access) matches that one-time price.
- Nothing is uploaded. Recording, editing and encoding happen on your computer, and the CLI logs keystroke timing only, never which keys. Our security page shows the data flow.
- Free to try in the browser. The recorder at /record runs in Chrome or Edge on any OS, with 2 exports a month free (small watermark). Automatic zoom comes with the CLI on the paid plans; in the browser you place zooms by hand.
Who this is for
This is for anyone recording software for other people to watch. A founder recording a launch demo, a developer showing a CLI, a support agent answering a ticket with a two-minute walkthrough, a teacher building a course. If you've ever spent an evening placing zoom keyframes by hand, or posted a demo nobody could read on a phone, this is the category that fixes it. If you only need to zoom one existing video, our guide to zooming in on a screen recording covers the manual methods.
How automatic zoom works
Automatic zoom works from data, not pixels. While you record, the app logs your cursor position and every click (some tools also log when you type) alongside the video. When you stop, the editor turns bursts of that activity into zoom segments. The frame eases in just before the action, holds while you work, follows the cursor, and eases back out when things go quiet.
It starts with recorded data
Most of these tools record the screen and the cursor separately. Screen Studio's FAQ describes it this way: it "records your screen, ignoring the mouse cursor, and then adds the cursor back in the final video." That separation is what makes the zoom automatic, and it's also why cursor size and style can change after recording.
It has one consequence people trip over: a video you already recorded usually can't be auto-zoomed. Cap's docs say imported MP4s "do not gain click data during import," and Tella says uploaded videos get manual zooms only. ZoomCap works the same way: auto zoom needs the CLI's click and typing data, and on imported videos and browser recordings you place zooms by hand.
What triggers a zoom
- Single clicks: Screen Studio, Tight Studio, Glidesmith, CursorFlow, Screen Charm, CANVID, Screenix, Cap and Tella zoom toward where you clicked, according to their sites.
- Click bursts: Cursorful waits for two or more clicks within three seconds. It says that avoids zooming so often that motion-sensitive viewers feel sick. ScreenKite offers a cluster mode alongside follow-cursor and loupe modes.
- Typing: FocuSee zooms on typing and ZoomCap on bursts of typing, both on top of clicks. That matters for terminals, IDEs and forms, where there's little to click.
- General cursor activity: Recordly suggests zooms from cursor activity, OpenScreen follows the cursor, CursorClip zooms as you click and move, and Camtasia's SmartFocus uses cursor movement, clicks and scrolling.
Good implementations also group activity. Clicks close together become one zoom, not three. A zoom that would start just as the previous one ends gets merged with it, so the camera doesn't whip in and out. In ZoomCap, clicking a field and then typing into it becomes one steady zoom aimed at that field. The recorder logs when you type, never what or where, so the zoom aims at your last click and doesn't follow the text cursor.
How the camera moves
A zoom has three phases: a short lead-in before the action, a hold (usually panning with the cursor), and a release once you pause. What separates good tools from jerky ones is the easing. Some use ease-in-out curves. Others use spring physics, where the camera behaves like a weight on a spring. Cap exposes tension, friction and mass controls for its cursor motion. Screen Studio lets you pick between "Focused" screen animation, which settles quickly so text is easier to read, and "Smooth", which is more fluid. Motion blur makes fast moves look filmed, but it also smears text for the few frames the camera is moving.
How deep should a zoom go? Deep enough that the text you're pointing at is readable on a phone, and no deeper. For a full-screen recording we usually start around 1.5× to 2×. Past what your recording resolution supports, text goes soft. Most tools let you change the depth of each zoom: Cap goes from 1× to 4.5× and Tella from 100% to 350%.
Why it matters on small screens
Take a MacBook screen 1,440 points wide. Played full-screen in landscape on a phone about 844 points wide, everything shrinks to 59%, so 13-point menu text comes out at about 7.6 points. A 2× zoom brings it back to roughly 15 points, a little bigger than on your own screen. In a portrait feed 390 points wide, the unzoomed text is about 3.5 points, and you need roughly a 3× zoom to make it comfortable to read. That arithmetic is most of the reason screen recordings look bad on social feeds.
The comparison tables
We split this into two tables so each stays readable. The first covers every auto zoom screen recorder we price-checked, with prices in USD before tax as published on September 29, 2026. The second covers features for the main tools. "Not stated" means we couldn't find it on the vendor's own site or docs, not that the feature is missing.
Price, free export, platforms, zoom trigger and tradeoff
| Tool | Price (checked Sep 2026) | Free finished export | Platforms | Local vs cloud | Auto-zoom trigger | Main tradeoff |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZoomCap (ours, our pick) | Pro $12.49/mo · $29 once | Browser recorder and editor, 2 exports a month with a small watermark; commercial use allowed; zooms placed by hand | CLI on macOS and Linux (X11); browser recorder in Chrome or Edge on any OS | Local only; recordings are never uploaded | Clicks and typing bursts, on CLI recordings | Pay once and nothing is uploaded, but no Windows CLI, no motion blur and no share links |
| Screen Studio | $29/mo · $108/yr ($9/mo billed yearly) · No longer sold to new buyers | Free download to try; exporting needs a plan | macOS only (Ventura 13.1+); no Windows plans | Local, with optional share links | Yes, from clicks | The most mature Mac app (motion blur, share links, iOS recording), but a subscription and Mac-only |
| ScreenKite | $79.99 once (founder price, then $99.99), 3 Macs | Free forever with every editing feature; exports watermarked | macOS only | Local; optional link sharing or your own S3 | Yes: cluster, follow-cursor and loupe modes | Feature-rich one-time Mac app; watermark until you buy |
| FocuSee | $19.99/mo (1 computer) · $49.99/yr (1 computer) · $199.99 once (FocuSee 2.x only, 5 computers) | Trial exports one video | Windows and macOS | Local editing; AI features use paid credits | Yes, follows clicks and typing | Cross-platform with typing zoom, but AI features cost credits and lifetime covers v2 only |
| Tight Studio | Plus $19/mo, Pro $49/mo · Plus $108/yr, Pro $288/yr | Free forever, standard exports without watermark; limited clips, share links and AI credits | macOS, Apple Silicon only | Local; cloud share links and AI credits | Yes, on every click | Generous free plan, but Apple Silicon only and paid tiers are subscriptions |
| Recordly | Free | Free and open source (AGPL-3.0), no limits | macOS 14+, Windows 10, Linux | Local | Yes, zoom suggestions from cursor activity | Free on every OS; community-supported, smaller editing and audio feature set |
| Cap | Pro $12/user/mo · Desktop licence $29/yr; Pro about $98/yr · $58 once (desktop licence, commercial use) | Free for personal use only (no commercial use) | macOS, Windows (beta), Linux, Chrome extension | Local editing, optional cloud sharing | Yes (trigger not specified by the vendor) | Open source with sharing built in; commercial use needs a paid licence |
| OpenScreen | Free | Free for personal and commercial use, no watermark, no account (MIT) | macOS, Windows, Linux; also a CLI for scripts and CI | Local, GPU export; optional AI editing with your own API key | Yes, follows the cursor | Free, open source, with motion blur and per-segment speed; self-described as under active development with occasional breaking changes |
| Screen Charm | $79 once, 3 devices, lifetime updates | Free to start; export limits not stated on the pricing page | macOS (Apple Silicon) | Local, optional share links | Yes, from every click | One-time Mac app with captions, motion blur and pause/resume; Apple Silicon only |
| CursorClip | $9/mo · $29/yr · $70 once | Record and edit free; exporting needs a licence | macOS 13.5+ only | Local, works offline | Yes, as you click and move | Clean one-time Mac app; no Windows planned |
| CursorFlow | $70 once, 2 Macs, 1 year of updates | Every feature free; exports carry a moving watermark | macOS 15+ | Local | Yes, every click | One-time Mac app; updates last one year |
| CANVID | Pro $19/mo · Pro $84/yr · $75 once (desktop), 3 devices | Trial with every feature except export | Windows and macOS | Local plus cloud AI and storage | Yes, every click | Cross-platform one-time option; strict refund terms |
| Cursorful | $79 once (Pro, commercial use) | Free for non-commercial use, browser-tab recording | Chrome, Edge or Brave extension on any OS | Local, rendered in the browser | Yes, after 2+ clicks within 3 seconds | Nothing to install, but records browser tabs only on the free plan |
| Tella | Pro $26/user/mo · Pro $156/yr | No free plan (7-day trial) | macOS, Windows, Chrome extension | Cloud | Yes, from clicks and cursor data | Strong hosted editing and sharing, but cloud-based and a subscription |
| Camtasia | Essentials $179.88/yr · Perpetual licences discontinued | Trial with watermarked exports | Windows 10/11, macOS 14+ | Local | Yes, SmartFocus from cursor, clicks and scrolling | A full video editor with a learning curve and a yearly price |
| Glidesmith | $29 once, 1 Mac (early-access price) | Unlimited recording; exports watermarked and cut at 2 minutes | macOS 13.1+ | Local only | Yes, every click | Same $29 one-time price as ZoomCap, Mac only, early access |
| Screenix | $39/yr · $59 once | 7-day trial, up to 10 recordings | Linux only (X11 and Wayland) | Local, optional hosted share links | Yes, from recorded clicks | Built for Linux, including Wayland; no macOS or Windows |
Want the 3-year cost of each, sorted? Our Screen Studio alternatives roundup has that table, and the one-time options are compared in Screen Studio pricing.
Cursor, webcam, captions and export
| Tool | Cursor smoothing | Webcam | Captions | Export |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZoomCap | Redrawn smooth cursor on CLI recordings; resizable; click sounds | Yes, circle or rounded square | Yes, Whisper in your browser | MP4 720p to 4K; GIF |
| Screen Studio | Yes, plus motion blur | Yes | Yes, generated on your Mac | MP4 or GIF up to 4K60; share link |
| FocuSee | Cursor styles and click effects | Yes | Yes, AI subtitles | Video up to 4K60; GIF; share link |
| CANVID | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Recordly | Yes, plus motion blur | Overlay from imported footage | Not stated | MP4, GIF |
| OpenScreen | Smoothing and click effects, plus motion blur | Not stated | Not stated | GPU export |
| Cap | Yes, spring controls, plus motion blur | Yes | Yes (beta), generated locally | MP4, GIF, cursor-only MOV; share link |
| CursorClip | Cursor size; smoothing not stated | Yes | Not stated | MP4 or MOV up to 4K60; GIF |
| Screen Charm | Yes, plus motion blur | Yes | Yes | MP4 up to 4K; share link |
| Tella | Animated cursors | Yes | Yes, 106 languages | Hosted link; MP4 up to 4K |
| Cursorful | Not stated | Pro only | Not stated | Multiple aspect ratios; 4K on Pro |
The main tools, one by one
ZoomCap is described from our own use. Everything else is from the vendor's site or docs, checked on September 29, 2026; we did not buy licences for the paid apps.
ZoomCap: our pick, zooms on clicks and typing
Best for: founders, developers and marketers recording product demos on a Mac or Linux X11 machine, especially demos that mix clicking with typing, and anyone whose footage must never leave their machine. You start recording with npx zoomcap record, with no app to install. It zooms on clicks and on bursts of typing, and the editor runs in your browser, with everything processed locally. The CLI comes with Pro ($12.49 a month) or Lifetime ($29 once). The free plan is the browser recorder and editor, with 2 watermarked exports a month.
Its limits: no hosted share links, no motion blur, no Windows CLI, and Linux recording is X11 video only. For browser recordings you place zooms by hand. Our ZoomCap vs Screen Studio page goes through the tradeoffs.
Price (checked Sep 2026): Pro $12.49/mo · $29 once. Platforms: CLI on macOS and Linux (X11); browser recorder in Chrome or Edge on any OS. Our pricing page
Screen Studio: if you need motion blur or iPhone recording
Best for: Mac creators who need motion blur, iOS device recording or share links with comments, and are fine with a subscription. According to its site, auto zoom follows your clicks, the cursor is smoothed with adjustable motion blur, it records iPhones and iPads over USB with device frames, share links support comments, and captions are generated on your Mac.
Where it falls short: it's Mac-only with no near-term Windows plans, subscription-only, and its terms say fees are non-refundable. Its zooms don't trigger on typing: it detects typing sections, but to offer speeding them up. Details, including what happened to the lifetime license, are in our Screen Studio pricing breakdown.
Price (checked Sep 2026): $29/mo · $108/yr ($9/mo billed yearly) · No longer sold to new buyers. Platforms: macOS only (Ventura 13.1+); no Windows plans. Vendor's pricing page
FocuSee: if you need automatic zoom on Windows
Best for: teams on both Mac and Windows, and anyone demoing mobile apps. According to its site, auto zoom follows clicks and typing, it records iOS and Android devices over USB, adds AI subtitles, and exports video up to 4K60 or GIF.
Where it falls short: the pricing is the most complicated here. The monthly and yearly plans cover one computer, the one-time license covers FocuSee 2.x only, and AI features use paid credits. The trial exports one video. We compare it with ours in FocuSee vs ZoomCap.
Price (checked Sep 2026): $19.99/mo (1 computer) · $49.99/yr (1 computer) · $199.99 once (FocuSee 2.x only, 5 computers). Platforms: Windows and macOS. Vendor's pricing page
CANVID: a one-time option for Windows and Mac
Best for: Windows users who want an auto zoom screen recorder they pay for once. It zooms on every click, according to its pricing page, and sells a one-time desktop license for three devices alongside a Pro subscription with cloud AI and storage. The trial includes every feature except export.
Where it falls short: its refund window is 7 days and conditional, and its pricing page doesn't detail cursor, webcam or caption features, so test them in the trial.
Price (checked Sep 2026): Pro $19/mo · Pro $84/yr · $75 once (desktop), 3 devices. Platforms: Windows and macOS. Vendor's pricing page
Recordly: if it must cost $0, on any OS
Best for: a $0 budget on Mac, Windows or Linux, with community support. It's open source under AGPL-3.0, suggests zooms from cursor activity, smooths the cursor with optional motion blur, adds a webcam overlay, and exports MP4 or GIF.
Where it falls short: it's a community project with a smaller editing and audio feature set, and captions aren't listed. On Linux it can't hide the real cursor, so exports may show both cursors. See Recordly vs ZoomCap.
Price (checked Sep 2026): Free. Platforms: macOS 14+, Windows 10, Linux. Vendor's pricing page
OpenScreen: free and open source, with motion blur
Best for: a $0 budget where you still need an unwatermarked export for work, on macOS, Windows or Linux, and can live with community support. According to its GitHub page it is MIT-licensed, needs no account, and its zoom follows the cursor. It also has cursor smoothing and click effects, motion blur, per-segment speed, GPU export, optional AI editing with your own API key, and a CLI for scripts and CI.
Where it falls short: it's a community project with no paid support, and it describes itself as under active development with occasional breaking changes. More in OpenScreen vs ZoomCap.
Price (checked Sep 2026): Free. Platforms: macOS, Windows, Linux; also a CLI for scripts and CI. Vendor's pricing page
Cap: free for personal use, with sharing built in
Best for: personal projects at zero cost, and teams that want open source with optional cloud sharing. In Studio Mode it records locally, generates zoom segments from your recorded clicks, and smooths the cursor with spring controls. It also has motion blur, camera layouts and local captions (in beta), according to its docs.
Where it falls short: the free tier is personal use only, so commercial use needs the desktop license, and cloud features need Pro per user. Windows support is in beta. See Cap vs ZoomCap.
Price (checked Sep 2026): Pro $12/user/mo · Desktop licence $29/yr; Pro about $98/yr · $58 once (desktop licence, commercial use). Platforms: macOS, Windows (beta), Linux, Chrome extension. Vendor's pricing page
CursorClip: a small native Mac app
Best for: Mac users who want a native app and a one-time price. It captures with ScreenCaptureKit, zooms as you click and move, pans with the cursor while zoomed, works offline, and exports MP4, MOV or GIF up to 4K at 60fps, according to its site. Recording and editing are free; a license unlocks export.
Where it falls short: captions and share links aren't listed on its site, and no Windows version is planned.
Price (checked Sep 2026): $9/mo · $29/yr · $70 once. Platforms: macOS 13.5+ only. Vendor's pricing page
Screen Charm: a simple one-time Mac app
Best for: Mac users who want a short learning curve and a single payment. According to its site it zooms after every click, adds motion blur, keeps files local, and offers optional share links. The license covers three devices with lifetime updates.
Where it falls short: Apple Silicon Macs only, no Windows or Linux, and the pricing page doesn't state the free plan's export limits.
Price (checked Sep 2026): $79 once, 3 devices, lifetime updates. Platforms: macOS (Apple Silicon). Vendor's pricing page
Tella: if your videos live as hosted links
Best for: teams whose videos live as links, not files. Auto Zoom works from clicks and cursor movement, with four styles from Subtle to Intense, in the Mac and Windows apps and the Chrome extension. You get hosted links with analytics, transcription in 106 languages, and MP4 export up to 4K when you need a file.
Where it falls short: it's cloud-based, so your recording is uploaded, and it's a per-seat subscription with no free plan, only a 7-day trial. See Tella vs ZoomCap.
Price (checked Sep 2026): Pro $26/user/mo · Pro $156/yr. Platforms: macOS, Windows, Chrome extension. Vendor's pricing page
Cursorful: if you can't install a desktop app
Best for: recording a web app from Chrome, Edge or Brave on any OS, especially on machines where you can't install desktop software. Its zoom triggers on two or more clicks within three seconds, deliberately, to avoid dizzying the viewer. Rendering happens locally in your browser.
Where it falls short: the free plan is non-commercial and records browser tabs; commercial use needs Pro. Switch to another app and you'll place any zooms by hand.
Price (checked Sep 2026): $79 once (Pro, commercial use). Platforms: Chrome, Edge or Brave extension on any OS. Vendor's pricing page
Also compared: ScreenKite, Tight Studio, CursorFlow, Camtasia, Glidesmith, Screenix
These also zoom automatically. We didn't test them hands-on; the facts below are from each vendor's site on September 29, 2026.
- ScreenKite: macOS only. Zoom: Yes: cluster, follow-cursor and loupe modes. Price: $79.99 once (founder price, then $99.99), 3 Macs. Feature-rich one-time Mac app; watermark until you buy.
- Tight Studio: macOS, Apple Silicon only. Zoom: Yes, on every click. Price: Plus $19/mo, Pro $49/mo · Plus $108/yr, Pro $288/yr. Generous free plan, but Apple Silicon only and paid tiers are subscriptions.
- CursorFlow: macOS 15+. Zoom: Yes, every click. Price: $70 once, 2 Macs, 1 year of updates. One-time Mac app; updates last one year.
- Camtasia: Windows 10/11, macOS 14+. Zoom: Yes, SmartFocus from cursor, clicks and scrolling. Price: Essentials $179.88/yr · Perpetual licences discontinued. A full video editor with a learning curve and a yearly price.
- Glidesmith: macOS 13.1+. Zoom: Yes, every click. Price: $29 once, 1 Mac (early-access price). Same $29 one-time price as ZoomCap, Mac only, early access.
- Screenix: Linux only (X11 and Wayland). Zoom: Yes, from recorded clicks. Price: $39/yr · $59 once. Built for Linux, including Wayland; no macOS or Windows.
Tools we left out, and why
Arcade and Supademo are interactive demo builders: a click-through tour made of steps, not a video. Both add automatic pan and zoom to those steps, but Arcade's docs say its video capture doesn't get automatic pan and zoom, and Supademo applies its auto zoom to each slide. They're good for "try it yourself" tours, just not screen recorders in the sense of this list. OBS Studio, QuickTime and Cmd+Shift+5 record without any automatic zoom, and so does Loom, which is built for quick async messages. We covered where OBS still wins in OBS vs ZoomCap.
Which one should you pick?
- Product demos on a Mac, pay once: ZoomCap ($29 once), with click and typing zoom and nothing uploaded. If you want a native app with a Dock icon instead, ScreenKite, Glidesmith, CursorClip, CursorFlow and Screen Charm are Mac-only options.
- Developers recording terminals and IDEs: ZoomCap. Its typing zoom is built for this. See also our guide to terminal demo videos.
- Linux X11: ZoomCap's CLI (video only). On Wayland, Screenix. More in Screen Studio for Linux.
- Footage under NDA or full of customer data: ZoomCap, which never uploads recordings. Recordly, OpenScreen, CursorClip, CursorFlow and Glidesmith are also local only, according to their sites.
- Try before paying, any OS: ZoomCap's free browser recorder, with zooms placed by hand.
- You need motion blur or mobile app recording: Screen Studio (iPhone and iPad) or FocuSee (iOS and Android).
- Automatic zoom on Windows: FocuSee or CANVID. More in Screen Studio for Windows.
- A budget of $0: Recordly or OpenScreen; Tight Studio on Apple Silicon; Cap (personal use); Cursorful (non-commercial, browser only).
- Teams sharing links with viewer analytics: Tella, or Cap Pro if you want open source.
A six-step decision framework
- Start with your OS. It rules out half the list. Seven of these tools are Mac-only, Screenix is Linux-only, and Cursorful needs a Chromium browser.
- Ask whether your demos are mouse or keyboard. If you're mostly typing (a CLI, a code editor, a long form), click-only zoom has nothing to aim at. Pick a tool that zooms on typing.
- Decide between a file and a link. If the video goes on a landing page, into docs or onto social, you want a clean MP4, so any local tool works. If it goes to a prospect and you want to know whether they watched, a hosted tool with analytics is the job.
- Match the pricing model to how often you record. Weekly: a subscription is fine. Monthly: a one-time license pays for itself within the year. Once: use a free tool or pay for a single month.
- Check where the footage goes. If your screen shows customer data or unreleased features, prefer tools that process locally and don't upload unless you ask them to.
- Run the same 60-second test in your top two. Record your real flow, export, and watch it on your phone. Most tools here let you record and edit for free, so this costs you ten minutes.
When automatic zoom is a bad idea
Skip automatic zoom when the viewer needs the whole screen to understand what's happening, or when the motion itself becomes the problem. Zooming in on the thing you clicked always hides something else, and on some screens that something else is the point.
- Dense dashboards and comparisons. If you click a filter to show how three charts change together, zooming on the filter hides the charts. Use a wide shot, or zoom manually onto the result rather than the click.
- Design and layout reviews. Spacing, alignment and hierarchy only read at full frame.
- Rapid-fire clicking. Filling a form or ticking twenty checkboxes produces a zoom that jitters around the screen. Merge those zooms or delete them.
- Reference documentation. People following written steps need to find the button on their own full screen. Tight zooms remove the landmarks that tell them where it is.
- Viewers with motion sensitivity. WCAG's guidance on animation from interactions notes that non-essential motion can trigger vestibular reactions such as dizziness and nausea. Constant zooming and panning is exactly that kind of motion.
If you keep auto zoom, soften it. Use fewer, shallower zooms with longer holds. Turn motion blur down or off. Delete zooms that don't help the viewer read something. And for training material, consider publishing an unzoomed version too.
Common mistakes with auto zoom recorders
- Clicking while you think. Idle clicks become zooms. Keep your hand off the mouse between actions, or delete the stray zooms afterwards.
- Expecting auto zoom on an imported video. Without click data recorded alongside it, you get manual zooms only. Record with the tool from the start.
- Zooming deeper than your resolution supports. A 3× zoom on a 1080p capture gets soft. Record at your display's native resolution and keep the zoom modest.
- Shipping the first pass unreviewed. Auto zoom gets most zooms right, not all. Scrub the timeline once and fix the two or three that aim at the wrong place.
- Forgetting what the zoom will magnify. It blows up whatever you click: a password manager pop-up, an API key field, a customer's email, a Slack notification. Close unrelated tabs, turn on Do Not Disturb, and record in a seeded demo account, not production. Get consent before recording anyone else's data.
- Leaving the cursor tiny. On a phone, a normal-size cursor disappears. Most of these tools let you enlarge it after recording.
For the full workflow around the recording (script, setup, pacing), see how to record a product demo.
When not to use a screen recording at all
- One setting or one error message: an annotated screenshot is faster to make and faster to read.
- Reference docs people will scan: text plus screenshots is searchable and easy to update. Video is neither.
- A debugging session that needs back-and-forth: a live call with screen sharing beats three rounds of recorded replies.
- A quick status update to your team: any instant-link recorder will do.
When not to use ZoomCap
ZoomCap is the wrong tool in a few specific cases:
- You need automatic zoom on Windows. There is no Windows CLI yet; use FocuSee or CANVID.
- You record on Wayland, or need audio on Linux. Use Screenix.
- You need motion blur, iPhone recording or hosted share links. Use Screen Studio.
- It must cost $0 with no watermark. Use OpenScreen or Recordly.
Our recommendation
Use ZoomCap. It zooms on the two things demos are made of, clicks and typing, on a Mac or Linux X11 machine, and the footage stays on your laptop. It costs $29 once or $12.49 a month, with a free browser plan of 2 watermarked exports a month. Recordings are edited and exported on your computer and never uploaded (see our security page), payments go through Dodo Payments, and if it doesn't work for you there's a 14-day refund. See how the zoom behaves, and find setup in the docs.
Choose another tool only for the cases above: Screen Studio for motion blur and share links, FocuSee for automatic zoom on Windows, OpenScreen for a $0 budget.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best screen recorder with auto zoom?
We recommend ZoomCap (we make it, so weigh that). Its CLI zooms on your clicks and on bursts of typing, on macOS and Linux X11; it costs $29 once instead of Screen Studio's $324 over three years on the yearly plan; recordings never leave your computer; and you can try the editor free in the browser. Pick something else if you need motion blur or hosted share links (Screen Studio), automatic zoom on Windows (FocuSee) or a tool that costs nothing at all (OpenScreen). As of September 2026.
Is there a free screen recorder with auto zoom?
ZoomCap's free plan lets you record and edit in the browser with 2 exports a month (small watermark, commercial use allowed), with zooms you place by hand; automatic click and typing zoom comes with the CLI on Lifetime ($29 once) or Pro. If it must cost $0, Recordly and OpenScreen are free and open source on Mac, Windows and Linux and zoom automatically without a watermark, with community support only. Tight Studio's free plan exports without a watermark on Apple Silicon Macs, Cap is free for personal use, and Cursorful's free plan covers non-commercial browser-tab recordings. All as of September 2026.
Which auto zoom screen recorders work on Windows?
ZoomCap's free browser recorder works on Windows in Chrome or Edge, with zooms you place by hand; there is no Windows CLI yet, so no automatic zoom there. For automatic zoom on Windows, FocuSee, CANVID, Recordly, OpenScreen, Camtasia and Tella have Windows apps, Cap has a Windows beta, and Cursorful runs as a browser extension. Screen Studio, ScreenKite, Tight Studio, Glidesmith, CursorClip, CursorFlow and Screen Charm are Mac-only.
Does OBS have automatic zoom?
Not built in. OBS captures the screen as it is, and nothing in a default install detects a click and animates toward it. Third-party plugins and scripts can make OBS follow the mouse, and you can add zooms by hand in an editor afterwards. If you want zooms placed for you, use a recorder that logs clicks while it records.
Do auto zoom recorders zoom when you type?
ZoomCap's CLI does: it zooms on bursts of typing, aimed at the last place you clicked, using keystroke timing only and never which keys. Most other tools zoom on clicks only; FocuSee says its auto zoom follows clicks and typing too. Screen Studio detects typing too, but uses it to offer speeding those sections up, not to zoom.
Which auto zoom recorders keep my footage on my computer?
Most process locally. ZoomCap never uploads recordings. Recordly, OpenScreen, CursorClip, CursorFlow and Glidesmith are local only, according to their sites. Screen Studio, ScreenKite, Screen Charm, Cap and Screenix are local with optional share links, and CANVID and FocuSee add cloud AI features. Tella is cloud-based, so recordings are uploaded.
Try ZoomCap
Record free at /record in Chrome or Edge, with nothing to install. When you want automatic click and typing zoom from npx zoomcap record, unlimited exports and no watermark, get Lifetime for $29 once.